The Covering of His Wings

I wrote a few days ago about being protected under God’s wings. My granddaughter and I used a butterfly as a symbol. Here comes a very interesting explanation of the wings of our Father under which to take refuge.

Contributed by Nancy:

 

 

I would say beyond the shadow of a doubt that Psalm 91 is one of my favorite passages in the Bible.  I pray the entire psalm every day for myself and my family.  I have prayed it so much that I have memorized it in the Amplified Version, no less!  In doing so, I am praying an all-encompassing prayer of protection and blessing for them.  And it is straight from the Word of God, so I know it is in accordance with His will.

This one verse…verse four [of Psalm 91]… has bewildered me somewhat.  When I am praying I like to visualize what I am praying.  And although I know the Bible uses a lot of imagery and symbolism, especially in the Old Testament, I just could not get a mental picture of God the Father with wings.  Then recently I heard one of my favorite ministers explain the meaning of the “wings.”  It made wonderful sense and was such a blessing to me!  Now I have a perfect mental picture of My Father covering me with His wings.  Is your curiosity peaked?  I thought it would be.  Okay, I’ll share it with you.

When the children of Israel came out of Egypt traveling to the land God had promised them, they seemed to have a hard time keeping their mind focused on God’s Word.  Now, of course they didn’t have the Bible back then, but God spoke to them through Moses.  So because they were having trouble remembering to keep His words, God told them to do something that would visibly remind them.

“Again the Lord spoke to Moses, saying, ‘Speak to the children of Israel: Tell them to make tassels on the corners of their garments throughout their generations, and to put a blue thread in the tassels of the corners.  And you shall have the tassel, that you may look upon it and remember all the commandments of the Lord and do them…and be holy for your God.’” (Numbers 15:37-39) 

This garment has evolved over the years so that now it is known as the Tallit or Jewish prayer shawl.  It is a garment like a scarf, with square corners on each end and tassels on each corner.  The tassels or fringes are called the Tzitzit.  And the Tzitzit are called the “wings” of the garment!  Isn’t it awesome!  Our Father God covers us with the wings of His garment which represents His Word…His Word for protection, for healing, for deliverance.  The Jewish people also use the Tallit as a covering when praying.  It is placed over the head to more or less make your own prayer closet and shut out the world. Thus, our Father gives us refuge under the shelter of His wings!

Jesus wore a Tallit.  Listen to these verses regarding it

Wherever He entered, into villages, cities, or the country, they laid the sick in the marketplaces, and begged Him that they might just touch the hem [wings] of His garment. And as many as touched Him were made well. (Mark 6:56) 

This is talking about touching the Tzitzit…the wings of His Tallit.

  But for you who revere my name,
the sun of righteousness will rise with healing in its wings.
–Malachi 4:2

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Encouragement and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

