In Prayer Nobody is Impaired

I had a great “first” today. My friend Majetta took me to the first meeting this fall of the Ozark Chapter of the American Christian Writers. That was something else, to meet writers and editors for the local area. For sure, I’ll become a member!

One of the speakers talked about reasons why we write. She had made her own long list and encouraged us to make ours. Her title was “Say ‘Hi’ and make friends with your passion.” I’m sure some of you reading this are writers, or wanna-bees (you want to be a writer). Why do you write? Or why do you want to write?

I worked for twenty years editing and adapting other people’s writings with a passion to one day just “write”! It was like a fire inside me. I wish my late husband could see me now. He would be tickled pink at how much I’m writing. But I’m still not writing what I really want to write. What’s that? The story of my life!

We all have a story. And nobody has my story. I want my grandchildren to know my story.

You’re probably asking what all this has to do with the title. Bear with me; I’ll get there! Agatha Christie said, “The secret of getting ahead is getting started.” That is where most of us fall by the roadside. We dream of our passion and it just stays a dream. And that’s not just talking about writing. It can be whatever your passion is!

One of the things I have done in my writings is speaking up for those that cannot speak for themselves. At times it’s gotten me in trouble because I’m too straight-forward. I used to tell my husband I couldn’t wrap my words in cotton. I’m practicing. One time a friend helped me to “soften up” a letter I had written. After she had done her “softening” I did another round of it. By the time I finished I ended up with a one page letter that had started out as three pages. That felt good!

We write to get things out that are bottled up. Then after putting it all on paper, we go back and do a clean-up. Sometimes we need help with a clean-up. The second speaker we had advised us to get a good editor. A good editor is a treasure. I would say that a good writer knows how to treasure an editor.

I’ve spent several hour writing a letter to encourage a friend. That’s how I came up with the title for today’s blog. She has become somewhat impaired after an operation and has a hard time to cope with the situation. I suggested she could take on the ministry of intercession, but she had an excuse about that. That’s how I came up with this slogan, “In Prayer Nobody is Impaired.”

I guess if you would lose your brain function that would not apply. But whatever physical impairment you have, there is no excuse for not praying. My late husband took on the mantel of Intercessor when he no longer could travel as a Bible teacher. He left us many journals filled with names of people he prayed for. And his prayers follow me.

When the apostle John saw visions of heaven, one of them was this:

Then I saw a Lamb, looking as if it had been slain, standing in the center of the throne, encircled by the four living creatures and the elders. He had seven horns and seven eyes, which are the seven spirits of God sent out into all the earth. 7 He came and took the scroll from the right hand of him who sat on the throne. 8 And when he had taken it, the four living creatures and the twenty-four elders fell down before the Lamb. Each one had a harp and they were holding golden bowls full of incense, which are the prayers of the saints. (Rev 5:6-8)

Another angel, who had a golden censer, came and stood at the altar. He was given much incense to offer, with the prayers of all the saints, on the golden altar before the throne. 4 The smoke of the incense, together with the prayers of the saints, went up before God from the angel’s hand. (Rev 8:3,4)

Our prayers are not wasted!

Maybe writing is not your strong point. But you can write something. How about leaving a legacy of your favorite things? Very simply write…

  • your statement of faith—what you believe
  • your favorite poems and songs
  • your favorite Bible verses
  • some memories about family members
  • funny things your children or grandchildren say
  • your most memorable moments
  • names and descriptions of people who have influenced you the most

See? That isn’t hard, is it? Buy a notebook or a journal (the market if flooded with all kinds of fun journal books) and write down these things.

I wish my grandparents would have written something. My mother wrote down her story before she died. My dad has added to that story. I still have questions. Maybe when I see him this time I go to Sweden he can answer some.

You don’t feel you can do this. Then leave a legacy of prayer. “In Prayer Nobody is Impaired.”

What has been my legacy prayer this week? I have prayed for my daughter, for my son-in-law, and for my grandchildren that God will make them beautiful on the inside. I don’t think there is anything more valuable than that, and of course I have prayed it first for myself.

When I write my story, I want to write it from a gentle and beautiful heart. There are dark spots in the story. I want to handle those in a loving and caring manner.

I’ll leave you now so you can get started on your story! If you’re not writing a journal, send some prayers to the bowls before the throne in heaven.

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, My Life, Prayer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

