Eleven Years Ago

I was at work at Life Publishers in Springfield, Missouri when it all happened—the attack on the Twin Towers. My fellow citizens know the feeling we had that day. Indescribable horror!

My mother had passed away a week before and my American brother and I had our tickets to go to the funeral. But those hopes were shattered as all hell broke loose—yes, that’s what it was!

We were dismissed to go home. I was in a state of shock. I couldn’t even pack my bags. But I wasn’t going to need any packed bags. All flights were cancelled.

I was sad. I had “looked forward” to the funeral, if you say you look forward to a funeral. When it’s your chance to say your last good-bye, yes! This was just one in the thousands of funerals that would follow in days to come. And little did I know that by the end of the year I would be following my first-born to her last earthly abode.

The years have quickly gone by. Today I have the worries of a grandmother, one of them being for sweet Brianna, battling lots of allergies. Her mother’s input on Facebook yesterday reminded me of her struggles but also of my prayers for God’s healing grace to touch her life.

“I feel bad for Brianna. Her class at school got a pizza party today with little pizzas made out of English Muffins, I sent some of her gluten free bread so she could participate, but somehow she still ended up getting gluten and now she is laying on the couch with extreme stomach pain. Not fun at all for her. She keeps saying it’s not fair and it’s not. I’m hoping for at least some sleep for her.”

God has brought a little comfort in her life and for her siblings. Their dad found a little kitten in the woods. That was a wonderful way for the kids to get their wish of having a cat come true. The little one inherited his name from the family’s pet dog that they lost a few years ago. I introduce to you, Rascal II.

Brianna cuddling with Rascal II

I finished a letter to a friend, encouraging her to look beyond her circumstances and keep and attitude of gratitude, just in time to turn on Katie Curic’s second show on ABC. Her guest was Amiee Copeland, who contracted a fleshing-eating disease in May. This young girl is so amazing and inspiring, and very thankful for what she has. No legs and no arms but a beautiful gratitude-spirit and a captivating smile.

Look up Amiee Copeland on the internet and you will come to several sights where you can read about her. It’s worth it!

More and more I realize the importance of being grateful. For the rest of my life September 11 will be a day of remembrance; a day of thankfulness to God for what I have.

Adopt an attitude of gratitude!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in My grandchildren, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

