A Salvadorian “Savior”

El Salvador, a country in Central America, means The Savior. I just remembered that a Salvadorian “saved” us when we saw no way to get a visa for the United States. He worked with a lawyer and knew the procedures, so he helped me through the whole process.

Yesterday was the 14th of September. I prayed to God that he would give me a Bible verse for a very desperate situation. He gave me 14:14 in Exodus. Isn’t that awesome?

“The LORD will fight for you; you need only to be still.”

You might remember that I have written about an artist that has been helping me with artwork for my Bible lessons. Some weeks ago he confided in me that he was looking to bring his future bride from C. They met on the internet and have known each other for five years. To ease the process of getting a visa for CR they felt the best way was to go to The Savior Country (he is a Salvadorian).

I helped him with an advance for artwork to be done so he could put his plan to work.

The plan he worked out has not worked as he planned!

Two weeks ago my friend and his future bride converged in The Savior Country. What was to be a joyous occasion has turned enormously complicated.

His future bride brought all her documents from C, in perfect order under international law. But it turns out that in The Savior Country, the Supreme Court in charge of endorsing marriages argues that since they still do not subscribe to the electronic filing that C has, therefore her paperwork is invalid, even when the consul of C is accepting it.

They decided to go to the consulate of CR to apply for a visa for her. Surprise! They do not give visas to someone from C! She would have to go back and have the visa issued in the capital city of her home country. That’s understandable, but the bride-to-be traveled to meet her loved one with a one way ticket. Their finances are used up, so they are stuck!

My friend’s odyssey is nerve-racking. He is making contact with a family lawyer in C, to see if there is a legal loophole. Thankfully my artist friend has family to stay with The Savior, but it’s not the same to visit for a couple of days as to drag out the visit for a couple of weeks or who knows for how long!!!

As I mentioned above, I prayed to God that he would give me a verse to use in my prayer. That’s when 14:14, on the 14th, came to mind. I pray God will open the way like he did at the Red Sea for the Israelites. This is what God said through his servant Moses:

 “Do not be afraid. Stand firm and you will see the deliverance the LORD will bring you today. The Egyptians you see today you will never see again. The LORD will fight for you; you need only to be still” (Exodus 14:13,14).

There is a quote attributed to Charles H. Spurgeon: “God is too good to be unkind, too wise to be mistaken; and when you cannot trace His hand, you can trust His heart.”

This morning, the chorus of a song that probably was inspired through these words was such a comfort to me:

God is too wise to be mistaken
God is too good to be unkind
So when you don’t understand
When you don’t see His plan
When you can’t trace His hand
Trust His heart

My Salvadorian friend needs more than a Salvadorian “Savior.” He needs The Savior to do a miracle for him and the brave bride, who left her country to follow her heart.

When Rebekah of old left her family and her country to meet her future husband, Isaac, of whom she had only heard, there was no need for visas. We live in a much more complicated world today. You can’t just follow your heart. The international border patrols keep the doors closed.

In this situation there is a triangle of countries involved. My artist friend and his bride-to-be followed all the rules as best they could, but they still have hit a wall. Will you help us pray for a miracle?

Pray for a 14:14 miracle! To be more specific, ask for a 14:14 miracle for A&E. God knows exactly what that means.

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Prayer, Provision and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

