Taking Care of the Temple

Sixty years ago I received Jesus as my Lord and Savior. I have loved him more every day. The Holy Spirit has been my Teacher, my Comforter, my Helper, and so much more. I have known that my body is his temple, but not until today did I realize what a loving responsibility that implies.

Our body is our “house,” and as all houses it starts to deteriorate after years of use. It needs upkeep. My concern today is my teeth. I have periodontal disease. I probably acquired it during the year I lived with my daughter and had no dental care. When discovered, I had a procedure done for deep-cleaning and have kept up regular cleanings every three month. My insurance doesn’t pay any of that, and a regular adult cleaning that they pay for a couple of times a years doesn’t cut it.

The problem with my teeth is just one in a string of things that are starting to malfunction, as it is for most seniors.

It’s ironic. When the income reduces because of retirement, the expenses increase due to “deterioration.” Apart from the periodontal problem I need two fillings and a crown.

I felt a little overwhelmed when I started thinking of all the parts that don’t work well anymore. Then it hit me! Maybe someone would call it an Aha! moment. It sure was for me! The fact that I am here, alive, able to spread love, especially to my grandchildren. I prayed for that when I was in my darkest moments and thought I was going to die.

Don’t take me wrong. I’m not scared  to die. But I know my daughter and my grandchildren would miss me. And if I died no one would write the Perlita stories every week. Lots of kids would miss them.

I started thanking the Lord for all the years this body has worked for me; that it still is in somewhat good condition, even though some parts are a little squeaky. If it wasn’t for the cancer and the side effects of the chemo my body would be in a much better condition. But what a blessing to be a cancer survivor!

I had been a little apprehensive about the periodontal cleanings and the extra financial burden they would add. Then the Holy Spirit reminded me that my body is his temple. How should I take care of that temple? The best way possible! Which means I need to have the periodontal cleanings done even if my insurance won’t pay anything of it.

From now on, whatever it takes, however much of a nonexistent “nest-egg” I have to use, this body will be taken care of to honor my Lord.

Do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not your own; you were bought at a price. Therefore honor God with your body. –1 Corinthians 6:19,20

How does taking care of the body-temple look like? How about the following very practical things?

  • Eating healthy meals
  • Taking vitamins
  • Getting the needed sleep
  • Saying “no” to drugs and alcohol
  • Keeping the body clean and well-groomed
  • Getting regular medical check-ups
  • Brushing and flossing one’s teeth
  • Making sure of keeping oral hygiene
  • Exercising
  • Keeping a positive attitude

Good oral health affects your whole body. I feel cheated by the insurance company. Just because I have periodontal disease I don’t get the benefit of paid cleanings. But I will not let the insurance rules rule my life. When it comes to my teeth I will do whatever needed to take good care of them an so to honor the Holy Spirit.

You might think this is a ridiculous kind of “struggle,” and I agree. But it sure has opened my eyes about the attitude I need to have. Whatever it takes, I will take care of my body, the Holy Spirit’s temple.

God is a defender of widows. I claim that promise from Psalm 68:5. I take care of his temple; He takes care of me! No, it’s the other way around. God takes care of me; I make sure I take good care of his temple, my body.

If you’re a follower of Jesus, you have the same responsibility. We have been bought at a price. Let’s honor Jesus who gave his life to give us life, and life eternal!

Here is a link to watch a beautiful video that makes your heart jump an extra beat thinking about the majesty in God’s creation.

http://goldpaintphotography.com/2012/07/18/within-two-worlds/

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Fitness and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

