A Costly Crown

You haven’t heard from me all week. I had some costly work done in my mouth. If you ever had a crown done you know the price. You have to dig way down in your pocket! But I did not only pay in dollars and cents. Pain and a virus that attacked my whole body followed. Yesterday was my worse day!

I had some special plans for this week. Because of my weakened condition I had to reduce them to a minimum. I still published the 150th story on my Spanish page for teachers and children. I decided to celebrate by writing about Rascal, the little kitten my son-in-law found in the woods and brought home to the children.

I see God’s love in providing a home for Rascal, and at the same time providing someone that the children can lavish love on.

My grandchildren with their rescued kitten

I’ve started collecting materials to write lessons for children about God the Father. I realized people have different views of God, and I think a lot has to do with their experiences in life. My experience of God is as a loving Father. I’m sure my father inspired my father figure of God. Such a privilege!

God gave Moses a description of himself that I have found repeated throughout the Bible.

Exodus 34:4-7
So Moses chiseled out two stone tablets like the first ones and went up Mount Sinai early in the morning, as the LORD had commanded him; and he carried the two stone tablets in his hands. 5 Then the LORD came down in the cloud and stood there with him and proclaimed his name, the LORD. 6 And he passed in front of Moses, proclaiming, “The LORD, the LORD, the compassionate and gracious God, slow to anger, abounding in love and faithfulness, 7 maintaining love to thousands, and forgiving wickedness, rebellion and sin. Yet he does not leave the guilty unpunished; he punishes the children and their children for the sin of the fathers to the third and fourth generation.”

King Hezekiah repeated it:

2 Chronicles 30:9
The LORD your God is gracious and compassionate.

Nehemiah 9:17
But you are a forgiving God, gracious and compassionate, slow to anger and abounding in love.

Psalm 86:15
But you, O Lord, are a compassionate and gracious God,
slow to anger, abounding in love and faithfulness.

Psalm 103:8-12
The LORD is compassionate and gracious,
slow to anger, abounding in love.
He will not always accuse,
nor will he harbor his anger forever;
he does not treat us as our sins deserve
or repay us according to our iniquities.
For as high as the heavens are above the earth,
so great is his love for those who fear him;
as far as the east is from the west,
so far has he removed our transgressions from us.

Psalm 116:5,6
The LORD is gracious and righteous;
our God is full of compassion.
The LORD protects the simplehearted;
when I was in great need, he saved me.

Psalm 145:8,9
The LORD is gracious and compassionate,
slow to anger and rich in love.
The LORD is good to all;
he has compassion on all he has made.

Isaiah 30:18
Yet the LORD longs to be gracious to you;
he rises to show you compassion.
For the LORD is a God of justice.
Blessed are all who wait for him!

The second part: “Yet he does not leave the guilty unpunished; he punishes the children and their children for the sin of the fathers to the third and fourth generation.”

Jesus bore our punishment. He paid the price for the crown.

Isaiah 53:4,5
Surely he took up our infirmities
and carried our sorrows,
yet we considered him stricken by God,
smitten by him, and afflicted.
But he was pierced for our transgressions,
he was crushed for our iniquities;
the punishment that brought us peace was upon him,
and by his wounds we are healed.

Galatians 3:13
Christ redeemed us from the curse of the law by becoming a curse for us, for it is written: “Cursed is everyone who is hung on a tree.”

James 1:12
Blessed is the man who perseveres under trial, because when he has stood the test, he will receive the crown of life that God has promised to those who love him.

Jesus paid the price for the crown. He bore a crown twisted of thorns so we could have a crown of splendor and glory. God our Father…

  • compassionate
  • gracious
  • slow to anger
  • abounding in love and faithfulness

Psalm 103:4
God crowns you with love and compassion.

Let the truth of God’s gracious love engulf you. He’s gracious; he’s compassionate; he is the God of all comfort.

Blessings crown the head of the righteous.
Proverbs 10:6

 

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Blessings in Christ, God and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

