My Proudest Pictures

I’ve written this week about being humble and not proud. Now I am proudly, but very humble and thankful, going to show off my “proudest” pictures. Why am I so proud and happy about these pictures. Because it means I have made some memories. And one day, when I’m not here anymore, my grandchildren can look back and remember the happy times we had.

Do take pictures with your children and grandchildren. Yes, I know, we usually are behind the camera, but ask people for help so that you can be in the picture with the children. And I’m not only talking about little children. Take some picture together with your grown children. Take pictures with your siblings. Take pictures with your friends.

This summer my daughter and I went on a cruise to make memories. It had been almost 20 years since we went on a vacation together, just the two of us. One of the ladies that we kept up with was even more camera fanatic than what I am. She wanted her picture taken in every situation and at  every place we visited. She had the right attitude! Now she can show her grandchildren proof that she was there!

I just read an entry on Facebook. One of my friends had posted a picture of his family on their daughter’s first birthday, a very “proud” moment for them, especially since she is adopted. I’m quoting the comment on the picture: “Truly a beautiful family. But let us think of families who suffer hunger, persecution and sickness for Christ’s sake. It doesn’t seem suitable to show our prosperity. We shouldn’t worship what we possess, little or more.”

In no way do I want to dishonor Christ or make someone feel bad because of my “proud” pictures. I am so humbly thankful for these children that there are no words to express it. The little one, showed me with her fingers that she had been 3, but is now 4, wishing she was 9! I guess because her big sister is 9 and her other sister is going to be 8 on Monday, and soon she’ll be 9, too.

I’m talking about Sarah. The last two years I’ve spent considerable time baby-sitting her. We had a story going, about Rapunzel, you might recall. I thought she had forgotten. No way! Tonight she picked up where we had left off and we took turns making up stories about the fairy tale girl.

Let’s treasure every memory we can make. And do forgive me if I talk about my grandchildren and my daughter. My grandmother on my dad’s side used to brag about her children and grandchildren. Maybe I learned it from her. In no way do I forget those that are suffering. The display of these pictures is a humble kind of proud. I’m sure you know what I mean.

I could go on and on. My heart is so full of love it’s bubbling over. As long as I’m still here I want to make as many memories as possible. And I encourage you to make memories.

You don’t have children? Bless somebody else’s children. The most joyful memories you can make are those made when you give yourself away selflessly.

God bless you with a great weekend!

(If you follow my blog you have seen these pictures last spring and summer. Sorry! They represent my proudest moments. When I feel lonely I can go back and remember. That’s why I want to encourage you to take pictures that can become your treasured memories.)

Next comes the first proud picture of me as a grandmother.

When Sarah was a baby I was battling cancer. I don’t know how many times I asked God to let me live so I could tell the next generation God’s great miracles. I got my hair back. It’s gray and I’m proud of it.

This is my “proudest” picture: Mother and Daughter.

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Proudest Pictures

  1. janet says:

    YOU ARE SO BLESSED…..YOUR FAMILY IS BEAUTIFUL AND HAPPY…YOU CAN DEFINATLY SEE THE LORD IN YOU ALL..THANK YOU FOR SHARING YOUR MOST PRECIOUS PICTURES..LOVE AND GOD BLESS YOU SISTER, JANET

Leave a Reply

