Extravagant Giving (2)

King David gave extravagant to the Lord. In my blog “A Harp and a Slingshot” I wrote about the resources he provided for the building of the Temple of God:

  • gold for the gold work
  • silver for the silver work
  • bronze for the bronze work
  • iron for the iron work
  • wood for the wood work
  • onyx for the settings
  • turquoise
  • stones of various colors
  • all kinds of fine stone and marble

All of these in large quantities! Besides all of this, David gave his personal treasures of gold and silver, over and above everything he had provided for the holy temple:

  • 3,000 talents of gold (about 110 tons)
  • 7,000 thousand talents of refined silver (about 260 tons)

But David was not satisfied with what he had given. He asked all the leaders he had assembled if they were willing to consecrate themselves to the Lord. Then they gave towards the building of the Temple:

  • 5,000 thousand talents of gold (190 tons)
  • 10,000 thousand darics of gold (185 pounds)
  • 10,000 talents of silver (375 tons)
  • 18,000 talents of bronze (675 tons)
  • 100,000 talents of iron (3,750 tons)

And whoever had precious stones gave them to the treasury of the temple.

“The people rejoiced at the willing response of their leaders, for they had given freely and wholeheartedly to the LORD. David the king also rejoiced greatly.”

David recognized that it was none of his doing that he could give such a generous offering.

“But who am I, and who are my people, that we should be able to give as generously as this? Everything comes from you, and we have given you only what comes from your hand… O LORD our God, as for all this abundance that we have provided for building you a temple for your Holy Name, it comes from your hand, and all of it belongs to you.”

(Read the complete story in 1 Chronicles 28 & 29.)

On another occasion, when David needed to make a sacrifice to the Lord, he was offered by Araunah the oxes and other implements for the scarifice, but David did not want to have a hand-out. “I will not sacrifice to the LORD my God burnt offerings that cost me nothing” (2 Samuel 24:24).

We might look at the amount of “riches” given to the build the Temple as staggering. They gave with all their love. They wanted to build a house of worship. When Solomon built the Temple, this was his outlook:

“The temple I am going to build will be great, because our God is greater than all other gods. But who is able to build a temple for him, since the heavens, even the highest heavens, cannot contain him? Who then am I to build a temple for him, except as a place to burn sacrifices before him?” (2 Chronicles 2:5-6).

We are in the final stages of the run for the presidency. It makes me sick to think about the amount of money being spent on just the advertising for the presidential campaign, with more than 80% being used on negative ads. It’s so many millions I don’t even want to write it down here (look it up on-line and you will see). It’s so upsetting, especially with so many homeless—21 in every 10.000 people and other people living in poverty.

I’m not into politics; I don’t understand it. The useless spending upsets me! I don’t want to think about it. I hate the “extravagant” spending in such a negative manner!

I just want to go back and think about King David and his attitude toward offering to God. He didn’t want to sacrifice to God burnt offerings that cost him nothing.

My heart’s desire is to be full of love, a sacrificial love. To give the very best to my Father and Lord who gave his best for me. I feel like the psalmist, in Psalm 45:1.

My heart is stirred by a noble theme
as I recite my verses for the king;
my tongue is the pen of a skillful writer.

I want to be extravagant in my giving, according to my possibilities. I’m not a king; I don’t have the riches that Solomon had; but I have something to offer.

A friend of mine is joining forces with me in working on curriculum for children. Mind you, this is all volunteering. I like the way she described us, as “Two old ladies on social security that want to win the children of the world!” I’ve been putting Spanish curriculum on the web for four years now. We are going to do it in English, available to be translated to any language, all for free.

This is my way of giving to God what I have. It’s nothing big in gold and silver but it’s an offering of my talents and my time. Instead of sitting around in a rocking chair knitting (which I love) and doing scrap-booking (which I’ve given up to have time to minister to the children of the world), my “extravagant” giving is in time and talent.

What can you give? Our President and the Republican candidate are spending by the millions to win the presidency. That’s the way of the world!

Giving sacrificially for the work of God is what counts for eternity. That’s the kind extravagant giving I want to be involved in.

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Generosity and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Extravagant Giving (2)

  1. janet says:

    i love your teachings

  2. Kerstin says:

    Thanks!
    I love to teach!

Leave a Reply

