Five Years Ago

Precious in the sight of the LORD
is the death of his saints. (Ps 116:15)

Five years ago must have been a “precious” day for the Lord. That’s when he called one of his saints home. I guess every day is precious, because every day many “saints” are called home.

On this day, five years ago, I became a widow. Has it really been that long? God’s sustaining grace has been with me and he has been true to his promise to care for widows. If it wasn’t for the Lord, where would I be? His sustaining grace is amazing.

This is what we call a final “resting place,” although he’s not there, only his ashes. One day those ashes will come to life in a resurrected body. The beautiful urn is from Nicaragua, the decorated gore is from Peru, the picture of him preaching is from Almhult (where I will be preaching in three weeks), the flag is Swedish. Three more memories are in that “resting place”: one of his Bibles, one of his prayer journals, and his Ordination Certificate with the Assemblies of God.

Bengt (right) with his brother Leif

Proud mechanic in the Swedish Air Force

This picture I’m very proud of. We came to the United States with just our suitcases and had to set up home. Our budget was nothing to talk about; we had no money to buy assembled furniture. My Bengt was a preacher, not a handyman. But he worked hard on assembling furniture for us. He would set our all the pieces, lay out the instructions, and most importantly, he would ask the Holy Spirit to help him. This picture shows him in Colorado Springs.

We never made it to our 40th Anniversary, but I had 38 happy years with this Karlskrona-boy. He never stopped loving his home town on the southern east coast of Sweden.

Now I live on memories!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Five Years Ago

  1. Henry Barahona says:

    Qué hermosas fotografías, de nuestro amado hermano Bengt. Gracias hermana Che por compartirlo con todos nosotros.

Leave a Reply

