To the Land of the Vikings (2)

My trip to the Land of the Vikings started Sunday morning at 5:30 AM in Springfield, with American Eagle. The pilot was funny, announcing that one of the seats was throwing a tantrum that early in the morning. So we had to sit patiently and wait for it to be repaired. He then proceeded to tell us about all the electronic devices that had to be turned off. If you have traveled by plane you know the drill. He went through the list of cell phones, ipads, iphones, computers, ipads… “or any such ones I am too old to know anything about.” There sure are a lot of electronic devices these days and they all have to be turned off for take-off and landing.

We barely made it to the connection to Miami because of the delay. I have to use the services of a wheel chair and the man that pushed mine in Dallas was very kind and understanding, and very “fast.” Fast is what I needed at that point!

On that plane we had another “funny” pilot. “Flight attendants prepare for another adventure!” was his announcement.

Across the aisle from where I was sitting were some young girls that started joking with one of the flight attendants. “Have some candy,” they said, “it seems like you are having a bad day!” These girls were on their way to Dominican Republic for a medical mission trip. I didn’t miss a beat. I gave them my card and information about my Spanish web pages.

Gerd and Lennart are friends that I have known since my family and I moved to Florida in 1988. Gerd and I worked together at Editorial Vida (Life Publishers). She picked me up at the curb outside of the American Airline’s baggage claim area. There again I had a kind person help me out and position me where Gerd could pick me up. I was “surprised” and thankful at every turn.

My dear friend Gerd

Gerd is an excellent cook. Many times I will sit at my own table and have cravings for Gerd’s delicious food. To be invited lunch was a treat!

In the afternoon we attended a Swedish Lutheran service. Their rituals are very different from what we have in the Assemblies of God. A highlight was my friend Lennart’s trumpet solo. Gerd is the excellent cook and home-maker; Lennart excels with his trumpet! Another treat!

Beautiful cross as a backdrop

In the evening my friend Cynthia came for a short visit. You might remember that I worked for Bellefit for a while. Cynthia is the CEO! God is blessing the work of their hands and the business is growing. Here I had another treat. It had been a long trip, but with pleasant surprises, just as Susie prayed for (see previous blog).

At a late dinner, sitting outside in the pleasant Florida night air, I told Gerd about the development of my ministry and my plans for the future. She was so interested, that I now can say we are going to be at least three “little old ladies on Social Security that want to win the children of the world for Jesus”! Gerd speaks French and Portuguese, two of the main languages in which we want to publish the children’s curriculum.

It’s wonderful that I had to have the stay over in Miami. That was the only way I could get my ticket to Sweden using my Frequent Flyer miles! What a blessing!

Gerd works for the United Bible Society. She travels a lot in her work and this time the trip was to Cuba. So, the following morning we left together from Sunrise, hitting the road to Miami International Airport.

Lennart dropped me off at AirBerlin. Praise the Lord! Just inside the door were luggage carts I could rent. Then came another long wait. But once again I met kind and helpful people, both at the check-in counter and for the wheel-chair help.

I will have to make a stop here so I can get my weekly children’s story published. I have to have my priority straight. And that story is at the top of the list.

(Continues tomorrow)

Florida by Night

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Land of the Vikings. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to To the Land of the Vikings (2)

  1. vickyvic76@hotmail.com says:

    What wonderful pictures, dear Hermana Che! Florida really looks so beautiful! May the Lord bless you. It-s great to know there are nice and polite people who can give you a hand when taking those long trips. Praised be the name of the Lord! Big hug!
    ps. I liked the title of your story. To the land of the Vikings! he,he,he 🙂

Leave a Reply

