To The Land of the Vikings (3)

My daughter posted on Facebook an article that her husband had written, with the words, “My Thomcito is such a good writer”! I wonder what she thinks of her mom?! Just kidding! I probably don’t measure up with him, but that’s not my point. I just want to tell my story and leave a legacy for my grandchildren. I want them to know all the adventures their “mormor” had. And why not blog it for anybody else that might be interested!

It was amazing to feel the power of what my friend Susie and I prayed for regarding my trip to Sweden, that God would surprise me on how comfortable it would be. My itinerary looked all but comfortable but it turned out to be one of the most pleasant trips I have taken. People were so kind and helpful. From now on, I want to pray with Susie before any of my trips!

When I travel these days I need assistance. Last time I went to Sweden I had to travel over Frankfurt and I had such a bad experience that I have been postponing another trip. They wheeled me from the plane and sat me down in a corridor. No one to talk to, no place to move to, nowhere to get something to eat, no restroom! People were just hurrying back and forth… I wondered if I would ever get anyplace from there. But it worked, and they came to get me in time for the next connection. Never again, is how I felt.

In Miami I had run out of dollar bills to give tips so I had to buy me a chocolate to get change for a 20-dollar bill. It was the most expensive Musketeer I’ve ever eaten. It cost me $3.00! I enjoyed every bit of it. If you pay for it, why not enjoy it?

I checked in at AirBerlin and the kind lady at the check-in counter informed me that my carry-on was too heavy. I knew that! Have I ever traveled light? It’s been my dream as far back as I can remember, and I wonder if it will ever materialize. Yes it will! I know when I’m going to travel light! The day the trumpet sounds; the day Jesus comes in the clouds to take me home! That day I don’t have to carry anything with me. I can leave all of my stuff behind. I’ll have a new body, new clothes, a new home, new friends, new everything! How exciting! I can’t wait for that glorious day! When I go home with Jesus I will travel light.

Back to my heavy bag. It was nothing compared to what it is when I travel to Peru and take all my teaching materials. “Do you have medicines in your bag?” the agent asked me. Since I did, and for that reason could not part with my bag, she let it go. The carry-on, the computer, the purse, the heavy winter coat, the cane… all those things add up. But the guys wheeling me around were very kind and considerate. The man in Miami joked with me. “Are you more than 74?” he asked and laughed his big white grin. “I didn’t think so!” he said. Because I was “young” I had to take my shoes off. Do they figure that 75-and-up-year-olds can’t put bombs in their shoes? What’s the point anyway of taking the shoes off?

The flight to Germany was an all-night one. I had already been traveling for hours and my feet were swollen almost to the double. I was sitting by a German lady telling me all about how Germans love the Swedish Queen and the Crown-Princess Victoria. Sylvia is German, so they claim her. We talked for a while and got acquainted. Then I had to stretch my legs. She saw my condition and wanted to help. I tried sitting in the chair reserved for the flight attendants but the wasn’t permitted. One attendant gave me a foam box but when I put it under my seat my knees came up so high my new friend, Inga Kochan, said it was impossible for me to sit like that all night. She had seen an empty space at the front but it had a big box on one side. The man sitting by it emptied his things and I put my new acquired box on the floor and could stretch out my legs. Before that I had gone to the lavatory and cried out to God, “Precious, dear Jesus, what am I going to do with my feet. Please help me!” He didn’t come and show up in person, but as I have seen many times in my life, he will use the most unexpected to answer our cries for help! Did I ever praise God for his help!

We turned the clock forward six hours and arrived in Düsseldorf at 7:00 AM. There I spent seven hours, sitting by a gate that would take me to the plane to Berlin. In Berlin I spent a few hours and then we traveled to Sweden. Every time I had kind people help me. And when I arrived in Gothenburg my brother-in-law was waiting for me. After some two hours drive we arrived at the final destination. It was then 60 hours since I left my house in Springfield, Missouri, USA.

I had barely gotten out of the car when my step-mother ran towards me and gave me the biggest bear-hug I’ve had in ages. She was so happy to see me! There were other hugs, too, but this one I’ll never forget. I’m one of those rare persons who has a young step-mother. Stretching it a little I could be her mother!

Remember the welcome cake in blog 1? It was my sister and her husband’s wedding anniversary, so we “hit two flies in one swat,” as we say in Sweden! That was a yummy celebration.

Susie, my friend, I should have had you praying for me ages ago. Surprised by a comfortable trip? Yes, I was surprised. And very happy!  (Will continue)

Ola and Agneta on their Anniversary

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Land of the Vikings. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to To The Land of the Vikings (3)

  1. janet says:

    IM SO HAPPY IT WAS A GOOD AND RELAXING JOURNEY FOR YOU…I MISS YOU ALREADY…I PRAY GOD TOUCHES YOUR FEET IN JESUS NAME….AMEN LOVE YOU SISTER

Leave a Reply

