Berlin by Air

Since I traveled with BerlinAir I was glad to have a window seat to be able to take some pictures while we were landing. That, and a few hours at the airport is all I have to show for a visit there. As a young girl I went on a mission trip to Holland. I know we visited Hamburg and the Water Fountains with Lights and Music. I don’t think we went to Berlin. I would have remembered because of the Wall. How great that there is no dividing wall there today!

See these links on YouTube:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=brveevsKo24&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qi9SXH3Fr8c&feature=related

The water fountains are amazing. I saw them 50 years ago. They must be more amazing today.

I’ll continue with my tale of the trip, I guess on Monday. Today I’m very busy. I have to do a PowerPoint for a service Sunday, I have to keep my little step mother entertained. No, it’s the other way around! I want her to entertain me with the stories of her life, which I’m inspiring her to write in a book. I already have the perfect introduction.

When she was a little girl her father abandoned them. The mother had to care for three little girls —Edita, Hilda & Mary—, the oldest eight years of age. She got very sick, to the point of death. The father was notified but did not care. Some teachers from the school came and said to the girls not to worry, that if the mother died they would place the girls in homes.

Mary’s oldest sister, Edita (whom I have written about when she went to be with the Lord), said that she would not accept that they would be separated. “I’ll kill my sisters and myself if that would be the case,” she said. But then Edita went outside, away from everyone, and prayed to the Lord. She promised she would serve him all the days of her life if he would heal her mother. Her mother was healed. And Edita kept her promise.

All three girls have served the Lord faithfully. They have worked with my parents in programs to feed underprivileged children and help the mothers, mostly single mothers. The middle sister, Hilda, and her husband work with two feeding stations, managing one each.

Hilda on her 50th birthday
celebrated at the Betania feeding station

How did I get from Berlin to Betania? Wherever I am or whatever I’m doing, somehow I will end up in Peru. That’s where my heart is. Once upon a long time ago, Hilda was my secretary. She was also my girl’s best friend. Another day we’ll have some stories about Hilda.

These are my Berlin pictures:

Stories from Sweden will be next! Have a great day!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Land of the Vikings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

