The Land of the Vikings (1)

It’s my first Sunday here. It’s very quiet, except for the clocks ticking. Dad is solving cross-word puzzles, one of his favorite pass-times. My little step-mother is taking a well-deserved nap.

We’ve had a delicious dinner downstairs (Dad lives on the second floor) offered by my sister and her husband. My niece Mercedes son in visiting this week because they have vacation from school. In time for dessert my brother Lars came for a short visit. He’s the mischievous little guy that collected dead flies in a match-box and gave them as a present to our landlady who also was our neighbor! He’s also the guy who sent the kids home that had come to his birthday party. As soon as the cake was eaten he said, “The party is over. You can go home!” No more parties for him said our mom. That was fine with him because he didn’t like parties and never has!

Lars can’t figure out how we can concoct so many stories about him. I’ll not go into all the ones I have “stored.” Him being my very beloved “little” brother (it’s funny that I have to stand on my toes to give a hug and a kiss), no wonder I want to tell stories. He’s the answer to my prayers as a twelve-year-old.

This is the house where I’m staying. My sister calls it Casa Blanca (White House), but I have been informed that it’s NOT the White House! I thought she and her husband wanted to compete with President Obama, but that’s not the case. The upstairs windows to the right are “mine.” And I’m writing from the room that has the far right window.

Since it’s Sunday, let me tell you about church. We asked the pastor if I could have ten minutes to give a short report on the ministry I’m doing. Ten minutes, mind you! I prepared for hours for those ten minutes. And what did I do? Use thirty minutes! I got so inspired, saw the audience so interested, that time just flew away. Isn’t that what they say? “Time flies when you’re having fun!” And I love it when I get to do a PowerPoint and talk about the work the Lord has called me to do. I’m sorry if the pastor had to shorten his message, but everyone seamed happy when they greeted me at the door!

The service was in the Pentecostal Church in Vaggeryd. I had been there on a mission service in the sixties. A lady greeted me and said she remembered it. A man said he had gone to Bible School with me in Stockholm, another lady knew me from my home church in Örebro, and there even was a lady there from Peru, but living in Sweden. Let’s start with a photo of her and her beautiful baby girl.

We arrived early on this sunny but chilly Sunday. There was plenty of time to take pictures.

Dad and I at the entrance of the church

Maple in a pot

Dad and his wife Mary

The sanctuary

Lifting prayer requests to the Lord

The pastor and his son singing together

The pastor’s wife leading the song “It’s bubbling in my soul”

My 10-minutes turned 30-minutes presentation

Clocks showing the places where the church
is involved in missions

Mary by spruce on our way home

Papers ready for delivery sitting on the side-walk

That’s about it for today. Mary has had her nap and in a few minute she’ll have some supper for us. I told her that she is feeding me so well I will want to come back. So if she doesn’t want me back she better lower her cooking standards!

Have a blessed morning, afternoon or evening! It all depends where you are reading! (Will continue tomorrow)

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Land of the Vikings, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Land of the Vikings (1)

  1. keijo leppioja says:

    Hello from södertälje in joy to send my greeting to encourage us to move on in Jesus name and be soul winners for Jesus blood sake and do not doubt love of God among us in Jesus name,thanks and bless,keijo

Leave a Reply

