The Ministry of Presence

Ever since I read a story about “the ministry of presence” I’ve wanted to write some words on the subject. This afternoon I had a long conversation with Mary (my cute little step-mother who could be my daughter) about the subject. She has left her country (Peru) and her ministry (working with feeding stations for children) to follow her heart (my dad).

There is a world of difference between Peru and Sweden. In the beginning they lived in the woods, far from town. She says she felt like in a cage. Now they have moved to a town, so things are a little better. She can walk to the grocery store, and even to a health clinic, if needed. She goes to school in the mornings to study the language, together with other immigrants. She also has my sister that she can speak Spanish with. And at church a few people also speak Spanish.

Mary was excited in the beginning when she came to Sweden. She was inspired and wanted to learn the language, but then she lost her older sister and it was like her world fell apart. It’s been three years now, but if you have ever gone through a grieving process, you know it takes time to heal.

We talked about the different stages in life. I told her the story about a lady that had cancer, and due to her weakened condition and the loss of hair, she did not want to go out in public; she stopped going to church. The pastor visited her and said they needed her presence. Just by showing up at the church she was being a blessing. People were encouraged when they saw the way she was coping. “You have a ministry of presence,” said the pastor.

I feel like I have a “ministry of presence” being here with my dad and Mary. I’m not getting much of my work done but that’s okay. I’m glad that my presence can inspire. Mary misses the mothers and the children she used to work with, but I told her she now has a ministry of presence in a new place, and just being here, as a shining light for Jesus, is a work of love. At the school, with the immigrants, her smile can bring the presence of Jesus.

I have a friend who has moved to a nursing facility and is not very happy about it. She misses her old and active life. But it’s not only older people that can miss a “before” life. Even younger ones can have a crisis and lose the life they cherish and are used to. We grieve changes, and we should be allowed to do it for a time, but then we need to move on. It’s not easy but it’s the right thing.

Where do you have a ministry of presence? Think about it!

Mary’s orchid that I get to enjoy during my stay in Sweden

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Land of the Vikings. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Ministry of Presence

  1. Majetta says:

    Right now, I do not have a ministry of presence because I am transitioning and do not belong anywhere. I went to two services at a church yesterday where I knew no one except my husband who attended with me. Six or seven people shook my hand and greeted me only in their job capacity or when told to do so. Not one single person asked my name. No one except the Lord cared if I was there. I probably will not go back.

    I haven’t given up in looking for my ministry of presence. This is a good experience for me. It reminds me that I need to let others know when THEY have a ministry of presence to me.

  2. kelund says:

    May the Lord help you find your place. It’s a hard time.

Leave a Reply

