The Land of the Vikings (2)

I have a friend Christina who inspires me. We talked on the phone yesterday and she told me again she reads my blog every day. Wow! I keep her in front of me every time I write. I can’t write into thin air. I know by the stats that more people visit my blog, and each one of you are an inspiration. To you, Christina, special blessings. We made friends in our late teens, and each of us has worked on the mission field. Mine was Peru, Bolivia and USA. Hers was Chile, Honduras and USA. Christina, thanks for keeping me inspired!

The morning after I arrived in Sweden, this was the view from one of the upstairs windows.

I was so glad to still see leaves on the trees. That didn’t last for long. The next day we had rain and snow. Now this is the view.

All the leaves gone, but I managed to capture a beautiful sunset. Now let me tell you a story about one of the children Mary has worked with in Peru. His name is Pedrito. It’s really Pedro, but in Peru we love to give diminutives, so it’s Pedrito. What a coincidence! Mary is now married to a Pedro. My dad is her “Pedrito”!

It happened at a Vacation Bible School. For the closing program they had some competitions, and one of them was to see who could ride up the hill fastest on a tricycle. Pedrito, whom Mary claims was 18 month old, which I contest. My thought is that he must have been at least 3 years old. Mary figures he wasn’t even 2 years of age because he was so tiny. Now, you be the judge. It really doesn’t matter, because he was just a little kid.

Pedrito had an old and rusty tricycle. All of the kids who had bought their tricycles stood in a row to start the climb up the hill. Pedrito’s tricycle was in such a bad shape he couldn’t paddle. Being an inventive guy, he just got off the bike and started pushing it up the hill. The kids and the teachers rooted him on and he managed to make it up the hill—the first to arrive! No one paid any mind to the fact he had pushed instead of paddled. Everyone thought he was so cute and so invective they gave him first prize!

When he had received his prize and some cookies Mary told him to go home. He got on his bike and headed home. Late in the evening Pedrito’s dad knocked on Mary’s door asking for Pedrito. Mary got worried because she had sent him home. She had done it in good faith because he knew how to get home. She started calling around to hospitals and police stations.

At one police station an officer said they had a little boy there whose description fitted Pedrito’s but the boy said his name was Christian. Here’s a funny part. Pedrito couldn’t speak correctly yet and when he pronounced his name Pedro in Spanish it would come out Pedo (which means fart), so no wonder he didn’t want to say it. Pedrito used his older brother’s name, Christian.

When Mary confirmed that the boy at the police station probably was “her” Pedrito the officer started a barrage of insults because of her being such a bad mother, not taking care of her kid. When he finally stopped, Mary said, “I’m not the mother!” and the officer had to apologize.

What had happened? Pedrito had taken another route home and had an accident. That is, his tricycle got hit by a car. The driver was kind enough to pick up the boy and his bike and take him to the police station. The officers took care of him, bought sodas and cookies for him, and waited to see who would claim him.

Around midnight, Mary and the boy’s dad arrived to pick up the “lost but found contest winner.” He was sitting happily eating cookies and watching television. After the father had reimbursed the officers for what they had spent on snacks for Pedrito the trio was allowed to go home.

Of course, Pedrito was too young to understand the commotion he had caused. A few years later he and his brother caused an even greater “commotion” when they ran away from home to the big city, Lima, 200 miles away. That story will have to wait.  Now I have to get busy with my weekly Perlita story.

Let me just show you another changing view from the window.

Now, we just have to rake! That might be for Mary, because I’m not volunteering. She said she really doesn’t want to do it because she loves to see the leaves dance in the wind. Imagine these leaves dancing in the wind!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Land of the Vikings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

