Land of the Vikings (3)

Forty four years ago I spent Christmas at the Andersen’s home on a tiny island outside of Karlskrona. A month before I had met a young man from that town. I wanted to spend some time with him, but since my sister Ingrid and I had decided to celebrate the holidays together, I suppose it was that young man who made the arrangements for us. Our parents were in Peru. A few months later that young man became my husband!

Guess what? Today I was invited lunch at the home of the youngest of the Andersen’s—Inga-Britt—, who lives in Vaggeryd. We reminisced from those times when she was a young girl and I was a young twenty-something madly in love. I had some services for children and dressed her in a typical costume from Peru. It was one of her most special experiences from childhood.

Inga-Britt by a painting of her grandmother,
almost identical to her mother

Inga-Britt and Mary holding a picture of the occasion
when she dressed up as a girl from the Andes

Inga-Britt and I back in 1968

Inga-Britt’s mother was very missions oriented and she loved children. Wherever she went she would gather children to talk to them about Jesus. And she would have the children draw pictures to send to missionaries. I was not the only one on her list. Many received her greetings. More important than the letters were the prayers I know she covered us with.

What joy to meet her daughter! She’s on Facebook, so now we can be friends there.

A special thanks to my friends on Facebook who are praying for me. Someplace I caught a cold, which I hope to get over soon. This weekend I have important meetings in Tidan, outside of Skövde. Mary and I will take the train from Vaggeryd to Jönköping and then do a transfer to Skövde where somebody will meet us and then drive us to Tidan.

Some friends have been asking how my feet are doing. I don’t have as much pain as in Springfield. I remember that from last time I was in Sweden. And also from Huancayo. Could this be the reason?

My precious little step-mother gives me massage That might be one reason. Another one is the climate, I think. There is not the humidity here that we have in Springfield, Missouri.

I have been using MBT shoes for some years. Those really help. There is another brand, called JOYA, that is not as stiff and heavy as the MBT. I have not been able to locate those in the States so I’ll have to buy them here.

My sister has been using Addidas “slides” with the insides made lite little pegs. By her recommendation I’m trying a pair. It hurts when I put them on in the morning, but as the day progresses it feels better. These shoes give you automatic massage. Maybe you’d like to try them! You can buy them at Kohl’s in the USA.

We had waffles for lunch, with raspberry jam and whipped cream! Mary has gluten intolerance so she didn’t get to enjoy them. We had forgotten to advice the hostess, but Mary had a bowl of rice awaiting her at the house. That’s what she loves the most.

Here are some pictures I took at Inga-Britt’s house.

Doll house in a picture frame

Christmas plate from 1984 with the Lucia celebration

“My Angel”, a special gift from her daughter

Decorative candle from IKEA

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Land of the Vikings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

