The Election Day

We’re listening to the last newscast for the evening in Sweden, but of course I’m not going to get any news about the elections in the United States, other than a prognosis. I will have to find out first thing in the morning tomorrow who our new President is. Later this evening there will be an election wake. I’m staying awake for some of that, but it won’t help me to know the results because I’m not planning on staying up all night.

I have some pictures taken by the hours. It was just something different to do while there was voting going on at home. “Home” is a divided word for me. Sweden is home because here are my roots. The United States is my home because that’s where I live and there is my closest family—my daughter and her family. Peru is the country that has captured my heart. Then there is my real home—the house of God where I will spend eternity.

Here is my picture story of the day.

From my window at 7:00 AM

From the kitchen window at 8:00 AM

At 12:00 noon by the school where Mary studies Spanish

At 12:30 PM on our way to visit my brother Lars

At 12:45 PM taken from the back seat

At 1:00 PM we arrived. Here is one of my niece’s with her niece

The table ready for the guests

My brother cooked a nice meal for us. My sister-in-law was at work; she’s a school-teacher. My  nieces Emily and Lina and their families visited their dad and that way we all got to share a meal and an enjoyable afternoon The national food from Spain had inspired my brother.

Gazpacho, a cold soup

Paella, the main dish

Britta, the latest addition to the family,
born to Filip and Emilie the day I arrived in Sweden

Britta with her great-grandparents

Alida, Britta’s big sister having paella

With Lina, my brother’s youngest daughter and her son Harald
Isn’t she just adorable?

My brother with Hjalmar, Lina’s oldest son

I didn’t get good pictures of everyone, so Emilie, Filip, Algot, Alfred, and Ola please forgive me. And to my brother for inviting us to have a “Spanish” dinner, a big Thank-you.

Tomorrow my tale from the Land of the Vikings will continue. Not that this wasn’t part of that tale. I just had to point out that it was Election day.

Today Sweden has been decorated with flags, not because of the elections in the USA but because in 1632 King Gustav Adolf II went with the troops into battle, outside of Lytzen in Germany, and was killed. Shortly after that the 30-year war in Europe ended.

This reminds me of something my late husband and I used to kid about. There was a “war” between us. He was a model 1939 and I am a model 1946. We had the Second World War that separated us!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Land of the Vikings. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Election Day

  1. I loved this Kerstin..you have a beautiful family..And your picture story was wonderful..miss you back here in Mo

Leave a Reply

