Land of the Vikings (9)

To meet old friends is always a treat. In Växjö I have two Margit friends. Just like I have to go to Tidan or it wouldn’t feel like I’d been in Sweden , it would feel very strange not to visit these friends. By the kindness of my brother-in-law Ola this was possible. He drove me the 50 miles.

One of my precious old friends is Margit on Polkavägen (the Polka Road). It was under the light post by her house I received my first kiss from the young man who would be my husband. The light post is gone, but not my friend.

When we got engaged to be married, Margit treated us to dinner at this table:

Forty-four years later it all looks the same. It’s like there has been no time between visits, but the signs on our aging bodies tell us that we’re not as young anymore. Margit is 82 and is losing her sight and mobility. I’m not including a picture. When I called her and asked if I could visit she was upset because she can’t host me in her home anymore, but she arranged so that my other Margit friend invited us for dinner.

Margit and her daughter Katarina

This Margit just had her 90th birthday. She lives on her own on Lyckestigen (the Happiness Path) and is still going strong. When I lived in Bolivia and wrote Christian Education Curriculum her daughter Katarina did the illustrations. To meet them both on this trip was a real treat. And the dinner was exquisite, especially the gravy. Never in my life have I had such a delicious gravy to go with the meat!

I asked Margit about her secret ingredient, but she said she doesn’t have one. Her daughter has never been able to figure out what it is. Some people are just naturally talented in the cooking department. That must be it!

Dinner served by Margit

Sallad, cooked vegetables, lingon berries, gravy,
pork-loin with mushrooms, and potatoes

One thing that has been very popular in Sweden are the embroidered wall hangings. I can’t say if they are still as popular as years ago, but my first Margit had this one hanging on one of her doors, a daily reminder that The Lord’s mercies are new every morning.

Margit did many crafts when she still had her 20/20 vision. The desk in my Princess Room is decorated with this one.

The beautiful crocheted border on her curtain is Magit’s handy-work.

My grandchildren David and Sarah are experts on what I just did. I changed my mind! I wasn’t going to include her picture, but I feel like I need to put a face for you of my first Margit. She has been such a faithful friend over the years. Every time I’m in Växjö I wonder, Will this be that last time I see her? Never! Because we are headed in the same direction for eternity. We have our home in heaven. Whenever we give each other a farewell hug, we can say with certainty,

“If I don’t see you here, I’ll see you there!”

Do you have this assurance in your heart? Is Jesus your Savior and Lord? Nothing matters more.

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Land of the Vikings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

