Land of the Vikings (10)

Forty years ago, in the city of Huancayo, Peru my dad officiated in the marriage ceremony of my best friend Anita and a Swedish missionary, Göran Olsson. How interesting that we now should meet again, this time in their home in Lund. Those who speak Spanish will appreciate this joke:

Hace cuarenta años, papá casó a Anita.
Hace cinco años, papá cazó a Mary.

Anita, my friend, and Mary, my dad’s wife, both are Peruvian. We joked because forty years ago Dad “married” (casó) Anita and five years ago he “captured” (cazó) Mary. Both words sound the same so it makes a fun joke.

Göran (called Carlos in Peru), Anita, and their daughter Anky

Flowers for their Anniversary

My sister Agneta and her husband Ola, out of the kindness of their hearts, let us use their car for the trip to visit my friends. It was a 300 mile round-trip in which I had to drive again with a stick shift. It took a while to get used to, but by the time we arrived in Lund, a university city, I felt like a “pro.”

Dreary is a good word to describe the weather. No sun, no fun! That is typical for November in Sweden. We had written instructions on how to get to the house in the center of Lund, but there was a discrepancy in the number we had been given for the exit from the highway, so we got lost. What a blessing these days to have cell phones! Years ago, getting lost like this was another story. We called Göran and he came to get us, so we could follow his car and arrive safely at our destination.

The borrowed car, with passengers lost in the center of Lund

The Sofia Grill as a landmark for Göran to find us

View from Göran and Anita’s living room window,
beautiful in the summer with green growing all over the walls

The purpose for our visit in Lund was to have services with the Spanish group in the pentecostal church. One of the ladies had downloaded “old” choruses to sing. It was like going back in time forty years. For Mary it was wonderful because she could sing in her language, Spanish, and speak freely. She even had one of the teaching sessions.

We didn’t only have singing and teaching, but we also gathered for some refreshments and fellowship.

Patricia and Julio from Chile

Something I’ve done years on end is to inspire people to write their story. On this trip I helped Mary get started on her story, and even as I write this blog she is writing; but not really. She dictates and Dad writes. I’m trying to inspire my friend Anita to write about her ministry in Peru with disabled children. Patricia (above) has a great desire to write about her son who was miraculously delivered from drug addiction and is now composing and singing rap music to honor God. He has even made a video.

My friend Susie prayed that during this trip I would make a MEMORIAL for my children (I have one daughter) and grandchildren. I feel like my life is like a treasure chest, but not like the above. I’m sticking my treasures where moth and rust can’t destroy them, and where thieves do not break in and steal. You can’t find a place like that on earth. I’m storing my treasures in heaven!

I once had a treasure chest similar to this one. It was very special because I received it as a young girl from an old lady that prayed for me very diligently. I had it in Peru and planned on bringing it to the States, but someone stole it. That hurt, but I had to remember that my great treasure chest is in a place where no one with ill intent can get to it.

This trip is one of my “treasures.” Tomorrow I will have some pictures from my visit to the church that supported me as a young missionary 48 years ago. I told them I’d like to come back in 2014 so we could have a golden anniversary.

So, where are your treasures?

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Land of the Vikings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

