Land of the Vikings (11)

My question yesterday was about where we have our treasures. I’ve got them stored up in heaven. But I have my jewels here, and they are far from me right now. I’ve been gone close to a month from home. One of my granddaughters cried at school during practice for the Christmas program. The teacher asked her why she was crying. She missed me so much! That warms my heart, but I’m sad for her, that she is sad. The kids aren’t used to me being gone for such a long time.

My jewels, I said. Yes, my grandchildren are my jewels!

Let me tell you about something from a “long” time ago. Forty-eight years ago in Almhult they were building the church. The pastor said to the members, “Now we need to take on a missionary.” He knew God would bless the work at home if they blessed the work overseas. And I was the missionary they took on.

This past Sunday I visited the church and shared my vision for an expanding web ministry. A pleasant surprise was to meet one of the students from the Mission School I had attended. He’s been a missionary in Africa for many years. When I talked about translating my materials to other languages, like English, French, Portuguese, and Chinese, he said, “Don’t forget Swahili.” We won’t!

What are we praying for here? We’re presenting to the Lord my immediate needs for the web ministry I’m involved in. (Translation: a web page and a web master; artists and $$ to pay for art; video camera; translators; new computer; paper and ink.) The most important thing is to have people who are easy to work with. I have had my share of conflicts. I’m tired of that. I want to have good relations with the people who will work, and that’s what I’m praying for.

I had such an interesting encounter. This beautiful young lady took me back in time to when my girls were small and she and her sister were their friends. It was to be the first winter in Sweden Eva-Marie and Carina could remember. We were at her house and the first snow of the year fell. She has such a happy memory of how exciting it was for my girls to see snow. We had come from Peru and they had not had snow.

After church we had dinner at an old friend’s house. She has such good taste. It’s such a joy and relaxation to walk in the door, and even before you get in. I don’t like chicken but maybe I had it that time. I thought it was pork loin but my dad’s wife is sure it was chicken and she’s probably right. So if someone wants to give me grief about it, go ahead!

The curtains—check the pattern. Daisies, called magaritas in Spanish. That’s my ministry—Hermana or Tía Margarita. Here I am with my Dad’s wife.

Father’s Day, that’s what it was last Sunday. What a blessing it was to spend it with my Dad. In Sweden it’s celebrated the second Sunday in November.

After a very productive weekend we headed back to Vaggeryd. The changes in speed limits were very frustrating. It would be 50, 70, 80, 100, 110, 50, 70, 40, 30… Just back and forth (in kilometers). “Any American driving here would be very aggravated,” I said to my dad. “You are an American!” he said. Oops! I had forgotten that. I have dual citizenship, so when I’m in Sweden, I’m just Swedish.

(Tomorrow the tale continues)

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Land of the Vikings, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

