Land of the Vikings (13)

Packing day has arrived. I can’t believe how fast time flies. Now I have to say good-bye to my dad and his wife, to my sister and my brother-in-law. I wish I had my friend Majetta here to help me fit all the little nicks and knacks in the suitcase. I don’t think the “fitting” is the biggest problem, but the weight. The airlines have come up with so many restrictions.

Before I get to the packing let me show you what has made my stay here very enjoyable, especially when writing the blogs.

My brother-in-law set me up with a big screen. I have a wireless keyboard and my wireless mouse with a ball. I can sit in the sofa, put the keyboard on a pillow and a tray on my lap, and have the mouse sitting on the armrest. I feel spoiled!

The mouse with the ball is one of the best $50 investments I’ve ever made. My right has suffered badly with carpal tunnel because of all the movements with the mouse. Now I put the mouse in a secure space and the only thing I have to do is move my fingers. I highly recommend it!

This afternoon and evening I’ll be busy teaching Mary as much as possible on using the computer and Facebook, so no more blogging for me! I’ll just show you a few pictures.

Clothe dryer to save electricity

Recycle bins at IKEA

Ballerina lamps. How about that?

Or colorful globes?

What about a light fixture like this one?

They’re all from IKEA. How could I come to Sweden and no visit this popular store? Well, they are not all over the place, but there is one in Jönköping. We combined it with a visit at the Day Care where my sister works providing the kids exquisite meals.

The Day Care Facility

This was a delicious taco pie. Have you ever had that?

My sister with her grandson Lancelot

Lancelot enjoying ice cream

Peruvian coffee in a Swedish cup

Love the truth but forgive the wrongdoing

This embroidered wall hanging will do it for today. Oh, I can’t forget the visit I had yesterday. One of my friends from youth came by. She didn’t believe I would remember her. How could I not! She would distract me in church, speaking to me during the sermon. I hated it. I hate it even today when someone is chitchatting when I try to hear what the preacher is saying. That was just a little side-note. We did have a lot of fun together.

One thing I remember is how her dad taught her and her sisters a lessons on wanting to stay up late. They would complain about having to go to bed at a certain time, so one day their dad said they could stay up until midnight. But it had to be midnight. The girls though it would be so much fun. But when they started getting tired at around ten and eleven they were not allowed to go to bed. They had to stay up until midnight! That was their longest evening! After that the girls would go to bed without complaining.

It’s funny how things change. When we’re kids we wish to stay up late. When we’re older it’s a pleasure to go to bed. I usually stay up late so I don’t wake up at three in the morning and can’t go back to sleep. On Monday I’ll have to head to the airport at that hour to be on time for my flight home.

If you don’t see me around for a few days, that’s the reason. I’ll take a bus to Stockholm tomorrow. Sunday will be spent with friends in Stockholm, visiting Citykyrkan, the church that used to support us when we were in Peru and Bolivia. Monday will be VERY long. The plane leaves at 5:30 AM to London. Then I change planes and fly to Chicago. There I have to change planes again. At 7.55 PM I’ll be in Springfield, but due to the difference in time it will be 2.55 Tuesday morning.

Pray that I have a safe journey home. The kids are waiting for me, I’m sure. I can’t wait to see them!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Land of the Vikings, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

