Land of the Vikings (14)

I wish I could show some summer pictures of Jönköping, situated by the southern end of Vättern, Sweden’s second largest lake. But I arrived there in the dreary November drizzle. I was to take the bus to Stockholm.


We were on the road by 12:05 PM on Saturday. When we arrived in Stockholm by 4:15, when it was already dark. I wasn’t worried because my friends were to meet me at the bus station. But when the bus arrived, no one was there. It’s a good thing the suitcases have wheels these days. I managed to wheel mine across the street and into the terminal. What would I do now? I had phone numbers, but no phone.

I found a seat and asked some people sitting by me if I could use their phone, but they had no coverage. They were as much strangers in Stockholm as I was. Then I spotted a pay-phone. The problem then was that the book I had with the phone numbers wouldn’t show its face! I fired up the computer and went to my Outlook and found the number. One more problem! The phone was not for cell phone numbers and that’s all my friends have!

Problems are made to be solved. Close by a young man was sitting with a cell phone in his had. I had nothing to lose so I asked if he would mind me using it. Isn’t it great to find good Samaritans? He dialed the number for me. And my friend Gun answered! It happened that they were just half a block away wondering when the bus would arrive! There had been some miscommunication and the person at the Info Desk said the bus had not arrived yet. Was I ever happy to get the connection!

This little adventure sounds like a no-brainer but let me tell you it was all but that. If it had been in a time with no cell phones, what would I have done? I praise God for his help even in “adventurous” times.

Stockholm is a very beautiful city, with water and isles surrounding it. My friends live on the island of Lidingö. It was dark that evening but early the next morning I took some pictures. They are not very clear because there was no clear sky. My friends live on the 7th level of a high building so the view is great. They often see boats gliding by, on their way to Finland, I guess.

We spent a memorable Sunday, visiting the church in the center of Stockholm that supported us as missionaries from 1981-88 in our ministry in Peru and Bolivia. I will have to continue the story tomorrow. This has been a day of catching up with the 24-hour travel-day I spent flying home. Now I have to hurry to the pharmacy to get some medications.

The Tale from the Land of the Vikings ends tomorrow, just in time for Thanksgiving!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Land of the Vikings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

