Land of the Vikings (15)

We have an expression in Swedish about “singing the last verse,” when something is just about over. I sang my last verse in the church that supported us for eight years in our missionary work in Peru and Bolivia. Many memories went through my mind while sitting in one of the pews. The most exciting one was from the baptism service when my daughter Carina was baptized by her father and pastor Stanley Sjöberg. My husband also baptized a lady from Chile, and at the same time a group of Koreans were baptized. It was a joyful service, like few I’ve experienced. The Koreans are so expressive compared to reserved Swedes!

Through this blog or Facebook, I can’t remember which, I’ve made friends with a lady from Huancayo, Peru that lives in Stockholm. This was our chance to meet in person. She came to the service. What a joy to get to know Delia. On the picture I’m together with her and Gun.

My friend Paul took us on a sightseeing tour of Stockholm, but there was not much chance to photograph since it started raining. I just got a few pictures from my place at the front passenger seat.

If you ever have a chance to go to Sweden, don’t choose November. Go in the summer. Stockholm is a very beautiful city. For me it’s been either early spring or fall to see it. I wonder if I’ll ever get there on a summer day?

You are probably wondering how I could arrive in Gothenburg and depart from Stockholm. That’s usually not the way it works with round trip tickets. It’s because I flew the friendly skies with my saved up miles. On the early trip to London I had a window seat and could take some photos. From then on, no window.

I had heard about the hassles at the Heathrow airport. It was a long drive from one terminal to another. Thank God, I had assistance. But the big hassle was in Chicago. They were understaffed and too many planes came in at the same time. The lines were long but I got someone to help me even there. In Springfield I had the pleasant surprise of a very helpful young man that assisted me and hauled my baggage all the way out to the car in the parking lot!

Guess what was awaiting me at home? Thanks to my friend Majetta, who also picked me up at the airport, I had this big stack of mail. In all the stack only ONE personal letter. Magazines, catalogs, bills, and what we call “junk mail.” Now I have lots to take care of.

Now I’m back home feeling like the trip was a dream. It was good to meet friends, make new friends, and spend quality time with my dad and his wife. I have to offer a special thanks to my brother-in-law Ola for picking me up in Gothenburg when I arrived and driving me to Jönköping so I could be on my way home. Not to forget my sister Agneta, who made my stay very pleasant with the visits we had when she came home from work.

If it was up to me, I would never travel again. But the pleasure of meeting family and friends is worth the price. Next year I’ll probably be packing my bags once more. They are waiting for me in Peru for a training seminar in Christian Education. As for now, I’ll enjoy a few month without packing bags for airline travel.

Happy Thanksgiving!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Land of the Vikings, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

