Who to Keep?

Who should my daughter keep? That was the question her four-year-old daughter planted when she returned home from her two-day get-away with her husband. “Mom, who are you going to keep? Your Mother or your Husband?” Who is she going to keep? Probably both of us! One she is keeping by choice, the other she has no choice about. I’ll always be her mother, whether she wants it or not. But I tend to feel she is happy to have me.

I “survived” two days with four rambunctious children. Frankly, we did quite good. I was very impressed about my nine-year-old grandson David. He got up in the morning, made his bed, got dressed, brushed his teeth, read his Bible, did his regular reading, took the notes he’s supposed to take… all of it without me having to remind him one bit. I gave him a plus mark on the chart for good or bad behavior. He helped me with the dishes without complaining and during the day he took on his big brother role and corrected his little sister when she said something he considered rude or disrespectful.

The girls were another story. It took quite a few reminders before they were ready for the day! Is it different with boys, maybe? I never had a boy, so I don’t know. And I have forgotten how it was when I raised my girls. That reminds me of my grandmother. She would always brag about my dad, on such a great boy he was. We lived in South America and she was in Sweden. Dad would always tell my sisters and I about what a good boy he was when he grew up. We didn’t believe him. “Just ask my mother,” he would say. When we finally went to Sweden for a visit, and met our grandmother, we asked her. Guess what she said? “Per was such a good boy!” And that’s exactly what my daughter says about her boy: “David is such a good boy!”

David wrote such a loving letter for his parents anniversary. Among other things he wrote that he never wants to leave home, but he knows he has to. That’s the way life goes. One day or another we have to leave home and make our own life. And we carry with us what we learned growing up. I am so privileged because I grew up in a loving home. Of course, I thought my dad was too strict. But looking back I’m glad he was. It gave us structure. And now he can enjoy the fruit of his labor. He has 5 children, 19 grandchildren, and 26 great-grandchildren.

My grandmother was right. Per was such a good boy! I’m so happy I got to spend a month with him in Sweden. We’ve had such a good relation over the years. I have been his helper in the ministry in Peru and now he is my helper in typing the materials I need for my web ministry. All of it is a labor of love for the Lord.

Thanks for following along in the blogging from The Land of the Vikings. Now I need to get back in my normal routines. I need a vacation to recoup from my vacation, which as you have seen by my blog was not a vacation. But I got to eat some good food, cooked either by my dad’s wife, Mary, or my sister Agneta.

A friend gave me a fun game he had made. He’s an artist in carpentry. You have to match the color dots on all sides. It’s not as easy as it looks. But it sure entertained the kids this weekend. Mostly the ones pictured below.

The girl who wondered about who her mother would keep.

Here is the “good boy” of the week!

I hope my daughter keeps her husband till death do them part. There are too many broken homes in our days. And I hope the Lord will keep me here for a long time, so I can see my children’s children and their children. “If you survive,” David said to me, “you will see my children and be a great-grandmother.” I sure hope I do! I want to be a “keeper”!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in My grandchildren. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

