You and Your Household

I agree with the Apostle John 100%!

“I have no greater joy than to hear that my children

are walking in the truth” (3 John 4).

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about family members who are not following the Lord. As a matter of fact I’ve been thinking about it and praying for my immediate family as far back as I can remember. I have a list of 30 names that are my very close family who don’t know Jesus. It hurts me to the core in thinking that we might not spend eternity together.

My oldest daughter is safe. I know she is with the Lord. My other daughter loves Jesus and is guiding her children in the truth. That is my greatest joy!

There is a promise that we can hold on to in believing for the salvation of our loved ones.

“Believe in the Lord Jesus, and you will be saved

you and your household(Acts 16:31).

In pondering this serious matter —and believe me, there is nothing more serious!— I found some example in the Bible about households being converted because of ONE member! Dear friend, if you are the only one following the truth of God, you can be the means of your entire household believing in the Lord.

This is what Joshua of old declared:

Let’s look at biblical examples.

A ROYAL OFFICIAL
John 4:46-53

Once more [Jesus] visited Cana in Galilee, where he had turned the water into wine. And there was a certain royal official whose son lay sick at Capernaum. When this man heard that Jesus had arrived in Galilee from Judea, he went to him and begged him to come and heal his son, who was close to death.

“Unless you people see miraculous signs and wonders,” Jesus told him, “you will never believe.”

The royal official said, “Sir, come down before my child dies.”

Jesus replied, “You may go. Your son will live.”

The man took Jesus at his word and departed. While he was still on the way, his servants met him with the news that his boy was living. When he inquired as to the time when his son got better, they said to him, “The fever left him yesterday at the seventh hour.”

Then the father realized that this was the exact time at which Jesus had said to him, “Your son will live.” So he and all his household believed.

CORNELIUS, A ROMAN CENTURION
Acts 10:1-5; 11:14

At Caesarea there was a man named Cornelius, a centurion in what was known as the Italian Regiment. He and all his family were devout and God-fearing; he gave generously to those in need and prayed to God regularly. One day at about three in the afternoon he had a vision. He distinctly saw an angel of God, who came to him and said, “Cornelius!”

Cornelius stared at him in fear. “What is it, Lord?” he asked.

The angel answered, “Your prayers and gifts to the poor have come up as a memorial offering before God. Now send men to Joppa to bring back a man named Simon who is called Peter. He will bring you a message through which you and all your household will be saved.”

LYDIA FROM THYATIRA
Acts 16:13-15

On the Sabbath we went outside the city gate to the river, where we expected to find a place of prayer. We sat down and began to speak to the women who had gathered there. One of those listening was a woman named Lydia, a dealer in purple cloth from the city of Thyatira, who was a worshiper of God. The Lord opened her heart to respond to Paul’s message. When she and the members of her household were baptized, she invited us to her home. “If you consider me a believer in the Lord,” she said, “come and stay at my house.” And she persuaded us.

THE JAILER IN PHILIPPI
Acts 16:31-34

Paul and Silas said to the jailer, “Believe in the Lord Jesus, and you will be saved-you and your household.” Then they spoke the word of the Lord to him and to all the others in his house. At that hour of the night the jailer took them and washed their wounds; then immediately he and all his family were baptized. The jailer brought them into his house and set a meal before them; he was filled with joy because he had come to believe in God–he and his whole family.

CRISPUS, A SYNAGOGUE RULER
Acts 18:8

Crispus, the synagogue ruler, and his entire household believed in the Lord; and many of the Corinthians who heard him believed and were baptized.

THE HOUSEHOLD OF STEPHANAS
1 Corinthians 16:15; 13:16

You know that the household of Stephanas were the first converts in Achaia, and they have devoted themselves to the service of the saints… (Yes, I also baptized the household of Stephanas…)

THE HOUSEHOLD OF ONESIPHORUS
2 Timothy 1:16

May the Lord show mercy to the household of Onesiphorus, because he often refreshed me and was not ashamed of my chains.

Take heart! Stand firm in faith and prayers. Use these examples to encourage you. Don’t stop praying and believing for you “household” to be saved!

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Salvation and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

