Care for your teeth

I took this beautiful sunset picture when I returned home yesterday from the dentist’s office. I’m glad there was something to cheer me up because I was not so happy with the situation with my teeth. In a way I was happy about the news that the situation with my gums is improving.

This is what had me upset. The dental insurance I have picked is like throwing money out the window. They don’t pay for hardly anything! Yes, if I didn’t have periodontal disease they would pay a cleaning twice a year. I had to have a crown done, which on the list of benefits was something I could get some “help” with. Come to find out it turned out to be a non-covered benefit. This is the part that upsets me! Because of that the dentist doesn’t have to give me any discount! If the insurance doesn’t pay for the job, they can charge whatever they want!

I asked for a discount, and for an “only” time, they did me the great favor of giving me one! Next time I must have something mayor done in my mouth I hope I have been able to get a better insurance!

Why am I writing about this? I just thought I’d warn you to be very careful with your teeth. My condition started when I moved away from Springfield for a while. I didn’t get a new dentist and didn’t have cleaning for a year. I wasn’t aware of the precarious condition my gums were in because of the chemo I’ve had and the medication I have to take because of the neuropathy. This has cost me so much I don’t even want to write the amount!

Dear friend, take care of your teeth so you don’t get periodontal disease. Brush and floss religiously!

My daughter suggested that I get plastic teeth, but those can also get build-up on them. My grandmother must have been quite younger than me when she had those kinds of teeth. My little sister had a friend who was always bragging about the things they had at home, which we didn’t have. I guess she got tired of listening to him and one day came up with something he could not top off.

“Do you know what? My grandmother can take out her teeth and then put them back in again!” That did it! She had won the bragging contest!

Again, my whole purpose today is to give you a friendly warning, Take good care of your teeth!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Health and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Care for your teeth

  1. Pingback: Bearing My Inner Me « A Voice From the Foothills

Leave a Reply

