A Spiritual Vagabond

A haven’t thought about this expression until a few days ago. I have a dear family I’m praying for that fit the picture and I hope and pray they will find a church to make their home and stop “wandering”!

I grew up with the notion of staying were you are planted and doing your part to be a blessing. Not until I moved to the United States did I discover this “vagabond” mentality. I encountered the term “church shopping” and “church hopping.” It was very foreign to me.

I’ve noticed people move from one church to another. You don’t like the pastor, go someplace else. The music does not fit you, find another church. You have disagreements with some members, leave and find another church home. I wonder if that is God’s purpose for his people. I doubt it!

Maybe people don’t react to it in this country because there is such a variety of everything. You want to go out and eat? Take your pick! There are restaurants and fast food chains of all kinds. You want to buy cereal for breakfast? All the choices in the cereal aisle can make you dizzy! Whatever you want, there are so many choices.

I am an ordained minister with the Assemblies of God. If I wanted to visit a different AG church each Sunday in the city where I live, which by the way is Headquarters for the Assemblies of God, it would take me more than half a year!

I attend the one closest to where I live. I’m glad there is a place of worship close by to which I can invite my neighbors. Choices—yes, I have lots of choices. I could be an AG vagabond for the next few months. I’ve thought about it. I would like to visit each one of the 27+ AG churches in Springfield, Missouri.

There are lots of other churches in Springfield: Baptist, Methodist, Presbyterian, Church of Christ, Lutheran… I could probably “wander” for quite some time. It would be an interesting experience. But I still would like to keep my focus and touch with my neighborhood AG church.

I hope you are not a spiritual vagabond, wandering from one to another place of worship to find one that fits your fancy. No! Put your feet and your heart down in one place and ask God to make you a blessing in the good and in the bad times.

I pray that this weekend you will find peace and solace and renewal for your soul in one of the uncountable places of worship around the world. Isn’t it great to be a part of this great, big family of worshipers? It could be under a tree or in a big cathedral, wherever two or three are gathered in Jesus’ name, there he is! Alleluia!

Matt 18_20

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Christian Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Spiritual Vagabond

  1. Again I enjoyed your thoughts….I am blessed by the wisdom God has given to you..And I know wisdom only comes from being obedient and getting into his word and seeking him daily in prayer..God Bless You Kerstin,

Leave a Reply

