Spreading Cheer

I have good news! I met my new primary doctor today, a very cute Chinese lady. My late daughter Eva-Marie would have loved her. She loved Chinese people. When she was a little girl she made up stories about China and wanted to be a missionary there.

Apart from my chemo-induced neuropathy, the hernia, the lymphedemia, the arthritis… I’m doing great! I had heard some ladies standing in line at the Post Office raving about acupuncture. Guess what? This doctor suggested I try that for my pain and swelling in the legs. I might.

On my way home I visited a friend. Her heart’s desire is to go with me to Peru next year. I’ve promised to do a teaching seminar. No one has ever asked to go with me. We’re praying about it. She has taken in a homeless family. We got to pray together. Something like that makes my day!

I remember years ago when we had an encouraging visit. We were in Sweden for a year, living in a new town. It takes time to fit in and make friends. Ingegärd and Solveig were such a blessing to us.

One evening they surprised our girls as “Lady Santa’s.” Their knock on the door made such a difference. It made us feels loved an appreciated.

Solveig and Ingegärd

My husband used to travel visiting churches. I stayed home with the girls. Sometimes Ingegärd would come and offer to baby-sit so I could go to church. We had no Nursery or Child Care at that time.

The friend I visited this afternoon told me she’s always wanted to be a helper. She feels empty and sad when she is not helping someone. That’s a gift from God.

Romans 12:6-8

We have different gifts, according to the grace given us. If a man’s gift is prophesying, let him use it in proportion to his faith. 7 If it is serving, let him serve; if it is teaching, let him teach; 8 if it is encouraging, let him encourage; if it is contributing to the needs of others, let him give generously; if it is leadership, let him govern diligently; if it is showing mercy, let him do it cheerfully.

Sometimes we think it’s the big things that are important. I believe it’s the every-day expressions of love that carry weight. Maybe just stroking someone’s hand, showing them they are precious, is what is needed for a lift of the spirit.

I visited Solveig during me trip to Sweden. She invited us a wonderful meal at her house. How about Ingegärd? She has her hands full, because her husband suffers of dementia. Solveig has a guest room she has furnished especially for them, but it stands empty these days. They can’t travel anymore. A person with dementia needs his familiar environment.

I would like to leave some impressions on people’s lives, just as my friends Solveig and Ingegärd have left in my life.

This is a good time of the year to spread some extra cheer!

 

Solveig and Ingegärd 2

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Christmas and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

