A Day to Celebrate

The Swedish tradition for December 13 is to celebrate Saint Lucia, the Queen of Light. My “Queen of Light” girl, Eva-Marie, was born on Good Friday and was called home to be with Jesus on the Saint Lucia Day. It’s a day I celebrate, because, as her sister Carina says, we celebrate that she is no longer in pain and that she made it to Heaven. To have a daughter in Heaven is really something to celebrate!

Lucia Celebration in Cochabamba, Boliva

Lucia Celebration in Cochabamba, Bolivia

Lucia Carina

The above pictures are of both of my girls when they were chosen as the Lucia at the Swedish boarding school they attended. I’m so glad I have these pictures to remind me of a joyful moments in their lives, but most of all, as a reminder that Eva-Marie now is surrounded with light, in a world where there is no darkness, where God himself is the Light. God is Light and there is no darkness in Him! (The first picture is with Eva-Marie)

The tradition is that the Queen of Lights, dressed in white with a crown of lights on her head, together with a party of attendants, all dressed in white, get up bright and early and go caroling. Since it’s very cold and dark this time of the year in the northern countries, Lucia brings light and joy.

You can google Saint Lucia and get some information on this tradition if you would like. Listen to this Lucia-song on YouTube:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mk0FyZqNp5Q

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

