God with us

God with us

I have a Bible study on Jesus Christ our Lord going on in a Spanish Bible school on Facebook. This week’s study, due yesterday was “God with us.” I did not have time to publish it in the morning because I was invited to a Christmas dinner for the retirees at my former workplace, the Assemblies of God Headquarters. Then I did some quick shopping at Wal-Mart. Did I say quick? There is nothing quick about going to Wal-Mart, especially not when you can’t walk around but have to drive the electric cart. I think the speed on those is one mile an hour. But am I ever thankful for those carts!

It was late afternoon when I got home. I had not listened to the news all day so it was a shock to hear the sad story about the shootings in Newtown, Connecticut. Click here to read and hear about it. I know some of my readers are not from the States and might not have gotten this information. A young man killed his mother, then went to his former school and killed 20 children (in kindergarten) and six adults.

I never got around to writing my daily blog or publishing the lesson (I’ve done it this morning). I was too overtaken by the sad news, praying for all those affected…

  • parents
  • spouses
  • grandparents
  • siblings
  • aunts and uncles
  • cousins
  • innocent children
  • co-workers
  • co-students
  • church family
  • neighbors
  • friends

As I was praying and asking the Lord to wrap his arms around those affected. And I was reminded of the verse printed above:

“The eternal God is your refuge,
and underneath are the everlasting arms” (Deuteronomy 33:27).

I asked God this morning to use my prayer for the family that needed it the most, not the least the gunman’s family. Such devastation of the boy shooting his mother and then going on the shooting rampage killing kindergarteners. I don’t even want to think of the pain it would be to lose my little Pre-Kindergarten Sarah!

My grandchildren are going shopping this afternoon for a family affected by a fire. It’s the family of one of David’s friends at school. They’ve lost everything in a fire and are now living in the home of a family member. I’m so glad my daughter and her husband are teaching the children compassion by doing this.

God’s heart of compassion sent Jesus to rescue us from our sins. He is Immanuel: God with us. We have a choice, of either accepting or rejecting God’s love. Just as the family affected by a fire will have a choice of accepting the gifts my grandchildren bring to them.

We probably all need to be reminded that God is with us. His loving and everlasting arms uphold us. There is no promise in the Bible that we will not have problems or difficulties. But God is with us in whatever we encounter.

Take heart, be encouraged! Jesus is GOD WITH US!

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Disasters and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

