Christmas Trees and Bible Trees

04 Christmas Tree 2

The tree from the year we had the presents from
our girl
but she was in a better place!

I woke up this morning with a song in my heart.

“Out of the ivory palaces into a world of woe.
Only his great eternal love made my Savior go.”

My plans of showing off some neat trees went down the drain. I can’t fin the files. But I was inspired to study about trees in the Bible. The first mention of trees is so beautiful.

Pleasing to the eye
And the LORD God made all kinds of trees grow out of the ground — trees that were pleasing to the eye and good for food. In the middle of the garden were the tree of life and the tree of the knowledge of good and evil” (Genesis 2:9).

I love it that God made the trees to be pleasing to the eye, and also good for food. If someone thinks that God is not interested in our enjoyment, that person is totally wrong. God is a good God. When we choose God we experience it plentiful. The bad things happen because of bad choices.

CHOOSE GOD
CHOOSE GOOD

Let me give you some of the inspiring scriptures about trees.

A tree planted by streams of water
Blessed is the man who does not walk in the counsel of the wicked or stand in the way of sinners or sit in the seat of mockers. But his delight is in the law of the LORD, and on his law he meditates day and night. He is like a tree planted by streams of water, which yields its fruit in season and whose leaf does not wither. Whatever he does prospers. (Ps 1:1-3)

A flourishing olive tree
But I am like an olive tree flourishing in the house of God;
I trust in God’s unfailing love for ever and ever. (Ps 52:8)

To flourish like a palm tree
The righteous will flourish like a palm tree,
they will grow like a cedar of Lebanon;
planted in the house of the LORD,
they will flourish in the courts of our God.
They will still bear fruit in old age,
they will stay fresh and green,
proclaiming, “The LORD is upright;
he is my Rock, and there is no wickedness in him.” (Ps 92:12-15)

The good tree
Likewise every good tree bears good fruit, but a bad tree bears bad fruit. A good tree cannot bear bad fruit, and a bad tree cannot bear good fruit. Every tree that does not bear good fruit is cut down and thrown into the fire. Thus, by their fruit you will recognize them. (Matt 7:17-20)

The right to the tree of life
“Blessed are those who wash their robes, that they may have the right to the tree of life and may go through the gates into the city. Outside are the dogs, those who practice magic arts, the sexually immoral, the murderers, the idolaters and everyone who loves and practices falsehood. (Rev 22:14-15)

The tree bearing twelve crops of fruit
Then the angel showed me the river of the water of life, as clear as crystal, flowing from the throne of God and of the Lamb down the middle of the great street of the city. On each side of the river stood the tree of life, bearing twelve crops of fruit, yielding its fruit every month. And the leaves of the tree are for the healing of the nations. (Rev 22:1-2)

xmas tree in Peru x

A different kind of tree in Lima

xmas tree in Peru

Any tree will do!

Follow my sister’s blog about her guided Christmas Tour in Peru, on Inkaresor. Even if you can’t read the text you will enjoy the pictures. These trees are from her blog.

Blessings to you. May you have the peace of Christ that surpasses all understanding!

PEACE

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Christmas Trees and Bible Trees

  1. Pingback: How blessed I am!!!!! | I sense, therefore I reflect

Leave a Reply

