Pursue Righteousness

Have you ever been so thirsty you were desperate for a drink of water and you would do almost anything to get it? Have you ever felt a thirst like that for the things of God? Jesus talked about being hungry and thirsty for righteousness. (See Matthew 5:6.)

What is righteousness? Virtue, morality, justice, decency, rectitude, honesty, uprightness, integrity… We are to pursue these things. If we thirst and hunger for them we are blessed.

 

thirst for righteousness

 

There is so much to write about this subject. I will just bring out a few of the many passages in the Bible pertaining to righteousness. David, the shepherd boy turned king, wrote about it in the famous Psalm 23 (1-3).

The LORD is my shepherd, I shall not be in want.
He makes me lie down in green pastures,
he leads me beside quiet waters, he restores my soul.
He guides me in paths of righteousness
for his name’s sake.

The foundation of God’s throne

Psalm 89:14-16

Righteousness and justice are the foundation of your throne;
love and faithfulness go before you.
Blessed are those who have learned to acclaim you,
who walk in the light of your presence, O LORD.
They rejoice in your name all day long;
they exult in your righteousness.

The path of the righteous

Proverbs 4:18-19

The path of the righteous is like the first gleam of dawn,
shining ever brighter till the full light of day.
But the way of the wicked is like deep darkness;
they do not know what makes them stumble.

Prepare the way for God by living righteous!

Psalm 85:10-13

Love and faithfulness meet together;
righteousness and peace kiss each other.
Faithfulness springs forth from the earth,
and righteousness looks down from heaven.
The LORD will indeed give what is good,
and our land will yield its harvest.
Righteousness goes before him
and prepares the way for his steps.

The apostle Paul taught about th Armor of God. We protect out heart, our very core, with righteousness. “Stand firm then, with the belt of truth buckled around your waist, with the breastplate of righteousness in place” (Ephesians 6:14).

PRAY FOR YOUR PASTOR.

He is at the forefront of the battle. Surround him with your prayers as a shield of protection. Pray so that “your priests be clothed with righteousness” (Psalm 132:9).

Not only the priests, but every saint of God should be clothes in righteousness.

Garments of righteousness

Isaiah 61:10

I delight greatly in the LORD;
my soul rejoices in my God.
For he has clothed me with garments of salvation
and arrayed me in a robe of righteousness,
as a bridegroom adorns his head like a priest,
and as a bride adorns herself with her jewels.
God’s faithful servant Job was clothes like that.

Job 27:6; 29:14

I will maintain my righteousness and never let go of it;
my conscience will not reproach me as long as I live.

I put on righteousness as my clothing;
justice was my robe and my turban.

Integrity needs to be your way of life!

Proverbs 11:11; 14:34

Through the blessing of the upright a city is exalted,
but by the mouth of the wicked it is destroyed.

Righteousness exalts a nation,
but sin is a disgrace to any people.

The readers of this blog are from many countries. May each of us be a blessing to our city, to our community by living upright! May each of us exalt our nation!

DO WHAT IS RIGHT! Just Do It!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Christian Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

