Pictures can be Deceiving

This will just be a short warning. Beware of the pictures on the boxes things come in. They can be very deceiving! I had that experience first-hand yesterday.

For some time I had been thinking about getting a space heater for the very chilly winter days. We have some of those predicted for this weekend. I knew I needed to call someone for help. The Lord read my thoughts; he knows our desires. So a friend, my former real estate agent, called and asked if he could help me with something. He lives in another town but comes to Springfield to volunteer at Convoy of Hope.

Yesterday was a perfect day for him to lend me a helping hand. I made a three-point list.

  • Go to Honey Heaven to buy honey for my home-made recipe to keep cold and flu away. I mix honey with ground cinnamon (1 part cinnamon and 3 parts honey).
  • Check out a second-hand store for exercise equipment to find a stationary bike.
  • Buy a space heater.

Surprise! He has a stationary bike “stationed” in his shed. No one uses it so I will get it. Praise God for supplying that need! And the wonder of good friends is awesome.

We then went to get the honey and drove to Lowes (a store were you can get building equipment and home supplies).

I picked out a stove that would show burning logs as if it was a fireplace. I have wanted to have one of those for a long time. The picture on the box was just perfect. I knew it was going to be so wonderful. We loaded it in the front basket of the wheelchair he was driving me in and headed to the check-out. It was a good thing there was a line so we had time to chat and check the information on the box.

Pictures can be very deceiving! The picture had a brown stove but then we saw information that said it was black. Black! No way did I want a black stove-heater! So we had to start the process all over. I’m sure glad we discovered it before coming home. I would have been so disappointed.

Lesson to learn. Don’t believe the picture on the box!

Now I’m going to show you a picture that you can believe. I’ve been saving it for the perfect occasion. It’s my niece Siv standing by one of the modern wonders of the world: Machu-Picchu.

Siv

I came to Peru as a 10-year old. I got married in Peru. Both of my daughters were born in Peru. But I never got to go to this great marvel place. It’s for tourists and I wasn’t a tourist. When the problem with the nerves in my feet heals, I want to go there.

Can this picture be deceiving? Probably because it doesn’t show even a bit of all the marvels you can see there. If you ever want to go on a great tour, you want to have my sister as your tour guide. Contact www.inkaresor.se

Lesson learned! Don’t believe every picture. But the one of Machu-Picchu is true.

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in My Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pictures can be Deceiving

  1. Dawn Bryant says:

    This is a lovely post Kerstin. I pray the Lord will heal your feet so you can take that trip very soon. Oh, how He loves you! Many blessings and hugs from all of us. With love, Dawn

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

