PJ Party with a Twist

“Mommy, how come you’re putting on you PJ’s when you’re going to church?” a very observant 3-year-old asked last night. She is use to putting on Sunday best for church.

So her mommy had to explain that the ladies had a PJ party at church!

My “Princess” friend and I were invited to the party, a movie night. I’m not used to watching movies at church, but for fellowship’s sake I went.

The friend that is visiting me is from South America. The ladies at the party were gracious and put Spanish captions on the movie. I had to apologize to my friend for the “bad” language. They add more graphic words when they do the captions, or could it be that I’m not familiar with some of the English words that aren’t the best ones to use?

You probably have figured that I wasn’t so impressed by the movie. But there was something I really liked. One of the ladies had a short sermon after the movie. She talked about obeying God and using our gifts, something that will make us feel cherished. She did a short character portrait of each lady, highlighting positive features. One of them stood out because she is always so positive; another lady is raising a child with a disability and she is doing it with such strength and grace; one of the ladies stands out as an encourager; and so on. How beautiful!

Now let me tell you about my blunder! When the pastor’s wife, leading the party, asked if there was something else we wanted, guess what I did? I blurted out, “I want to go home!” As a soon as the words were out I could have bitten my tongue. How disrespectful of me! I didn’t mean it as bad as it sounded. It was just late and I was tired, but that’s no excuse. So now you know how straight forward and “say it as it is” I am. A friend of mine says that’s one of my Swedish traits. Can that be?

Big lesson for movie show-ers: Review the movie before showing it in church, or any place for that matter.

Big lesson for blurting out things: Put a zipper on your mouth!

When I was a young missionary visiting churches in Sweden they would not even let me show slides at church. Only my host family would get to see them. Things have sure changed in 50 years! Some of the people from back then would turn in their graves if they saw some things that are going on today. I wish we could go back to seeking the Lord as we did in those days. Prayer and witnessing were at the top of our agendas!

What’s the “twist” to the party? I don’t know. I just needed a good title for my blog. There was no twist. We had good fellowship, good “junk food,” a very thought-provoking sermon, prayer for each other, and… a movie that I wish we hadn’t put the Spanish caption on!

It was my first PJ party since I was a teenager. It might not be my last. Maybe next time there will be a twist to it.

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

