A Taste of Ecuador

Never could I have imagined that I would spend a 50th birthday celebration with someone visiting from Ecuador. Nor did the birthday girl imagine it would happen. But God gave her a desire of her heart. I’m going to have a picture show of the breakfast birthday celebration we had this morning. But first I have to acknowledge a very important day. Forty one years ago God sent me and angel to care for. It would have been nice to spend this day with her, but there is a distance between us—200 miles!

Carina mom

This is the little bundle God sent my way. What a joy!

Sisters 1972

Carina with her big sister Eva-Marie,
who now is awaiting us in heaven!

If you want to read about Carina, go back in my blogs to January 19, 2010, 2011, and 2012. I am so thankful to God that I still have Carina. And thanks to her and Thom I have some gorgeous grandchildren that brighten up my life.

And today God has given me a taste of Ecuador.

Bday girl 50

The birthday girl is a artist. She has painted this picture.

Marcias art

Kerstin and Marcia

Here we are, my new friend Marcia and I!

Tobar and Monar

Marcia with her mother, Yolanda, and her sister Malena
and her brother-in-law Jorge.
Before I retired, Malena and I
worked together. We even shared an office!

birthday ladies

It was amazing to go outside to have our picture taken, even in the
midst of winter.
One day it’s freezing cold and the next day we
almost summer-like temperature.

Climates all over the world have really changed.

one cool dude

What would a 5oth birthday party be without kids?
We had a cool dude!

presents 101

Opening presents! You can’t have a party and not have presents!

Let me give you and idea of a game we played. Everybody sits in a circle and someone starts giving their name and favorite color. The next person gives her names and favorite color, then repeats what the previous person said. The third person has to say her name and favorite color and then repeat what the previous two persons have said. You continue this way until everybody has participated. The last person in the circle has a lot of names and colors to remember.

The game was awesome for me because I didn’t know most of the names and it gave me a chance to learn them. Try it at your next party. We enjoyed it. You will, too!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Friends, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

