Pray for Your Leaders

This is a special day in the United States history. It is the Second Inauguration of the first African-American President. It’s amazing with television these days, that even sitting in my living room I can be watching everything that’s happening.

Soon Barack Obama will hold his inaugural speech. Some are very happy; others are disappointed at the outcome, hoping that the Republicans would have won. The important thing of us all is to pray for our leaders, and for us that live in the United States we need to pray for Mr. Obama and his family.

My late husband had a difficult time when Mr. Clinton was president; he didn’t agree with him very much. But when Mr. Bush won the presidency, he got a lot of prayer from Bengt. It doesn’t matter if we agree or not, we have a commandment in the Bible to pray for our leaders. Bengt and I had some disagreements on that part. But he prayed, and his prayers follow him.

1 Timothy 2:1-6
I urge, then, first of all, that requests, prayers, intercession and thanksgiving be made for everyone– 2 for kings and all those in authority, that we may live peaceful and quiet lives in all godliness and holiness. 3 This is good, and pleases God our Savior, 4 who wants all men to be saved and to come to a knowledge of the truth. 5 For there is one God and one mediator between God and men, the man Christ Jesus, 6 who gave himself as a ransom for all men-the testimony given in its proper time. (NIV)

I’m using a picture of Brianna when she was a few years younger to illustrate my point today. This girl and I often pray for the president and his family. I’ve had my phone set for 8:00 PM quite some time as a reminder to pray. I turned it off when I was in Sweden and never got back into the habit. I’ve turned it on again. This is a new term for the President and I’m vowing again to pray for him daily at an hour that many people do the same. Will you join in?

Pray for the president

It’s not an easy job to be president. I wonder why anybody would strive for it. But we, as the people, need to stand by them and uphold them in prayer. Mostly I pray that they will know and follow Jesus!

I know some of my readers are in other countries. Pray for your leaders! “That we may live peaceful and quiet lives in all godliness and holiness,” said the apostle Paul.

It’s amazing to be able to watch the inauguration. And that it is held on the day commemorating Martin Luther King Jr., who fought for civil rights as a black leader.

The celebration of the 57th inauguration of a president in on its way; I’m going to give it all my attention.

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Prayer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pray for Your Leaders

  1. Pingback: Thanks you note from President Barack Obama | Prayer Works Cafe

Leave a Reply

