I’m Proud to be an American

More than fifty years ago God put a special love in my heart for America and Americans. I could never in my wildest imagination believe that one day I would be a citizen of this country. God’s ways are mysterious and wonderful.

Yesterday I spent the day watching the Presidential Inaugural Ceremony reflecting over the twists and turns life takes. It’s amazing how I ended up in Springfield, Missouri, by way of Hollywood, Florida and Colorado Springs, Colorado. And in Colorado I became and America citizen.

Like one reporter said, we’re all immigrants. The United States is composed of people from all over the world who have come here looking for what is called The America Dream. I came here to fulfill God’s call on my life. And now I’ve been here for 25 years. I still think I’m dreaming!

Yesterday I was working on one of my translation projects and watching the inauguration. The weather in Washington was beautiful, the footage on television was crisp and clear, and in a little green case was a tiny camera calling my name. I listened to the voice and started “shooting” picture after picture. That’s the way to do it to get some good ones. When I downloaded them to my computer, I had over 250!

I have now organized a few of the pictures and will be showing them here on my blog. You’ve probably seen lots of pictures on the news and you can go on YouTube and see pictures and videos, but humor me. This is my little hobby. Taking pictures and cropping them to just the right size makes me happy.

Let me show you some of the pictures today and then maybe some more during the week. Yesterday was an enjoyable day. I praise God for bringing me to this country. That doesn’t mean I don’t love the country of  my birth, but this is the country where I have lived the longest. Peru, Sweden, Chile, and Bolivia are the others.

God Bless the USA! is not something I say lightly. It comes from the bottom of my heart. And I also say God Bless the President! And may God make him a a blessing.

The inauguration

02 Iinauguration

01 Iinauguration

Taking the Oath, the President and the Vice President

public

sun on the Capitol

More tomorrow!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Dreams and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

