A Happy/Sad Heart

I have been happy, happy these last two days. God has put a very big-encompassing burden on my heart about the curriculum I’m working on in Spanish. I need to get it done in English so it can be used on the mission field and passed on to other languages.

I sent out a letter about this to quite a few people last week and this week. I got an answer that has made my heart do somersaults. A friend of mine “answered the call” and promised to help out in several areas, one of them being to color pictures using Photoshop! That is going to be such a great help in moving forward with the plans.

I had to take a break last night in the translation of the Fire Bible notes for kids. What was the break? To do the story of the week, if that counts for a “break”! I decided to go back in time three years and re-publish one of the first stories I did. When I first started I didn’t do a coloring page and no Bible activity. And I didn’t publish in color, so it was almost like starting from scratch. I always write a blog to go with the story.

I was looking for pictures to illustrate and came across one of Lana, from a few years ago, that looked like it could be a “twin” to the story picture. The story is about “Sonia Sonrisa” which means “Smiley Sonia.” This girl spread smiles and it was her friends that gave her the nick-name “Smiley.”

Did I say I had planned on taking a break? It turned out to be a looooong one! I got caught up in the story, the Bible activity, the picture of Lana, and a new technique I had picked up in Photoshop. I did more than burn the midnight oil. It was close to 2:00 AM when I finally made myself go to bed. This is one of the pictures I worked on.

Lana Sonrisa

I was planning on using pictures of children in a rainbow of colors and put this caption on the collage: “Everybody smiles in the same language.” Then I found the picture of Lana, and I changed my mind. I just watched an oldie of the Brady Bunch when Greg asks his Dad about girls, and how they change their mind. It’s our prerogative!

What does a cheerful heart do? That’s the question I had for the older children that will work on the Bible activity. What does it do? It brings healing. It’s good medicine. Check out the verses below.

“All the days of the oppressed are wretched, but the cheerful heart has a continual feast… A cheerful heart is good medicine, but a crushed spirit dries up the bones” (Proverbs 15:15; 17:22).

Do you need some cheering up? Find things to be happy about. And do like the little girl in my Spanish story. Spread smiles. The Bible says that if you refresh others you will yourself be refreshed.

Guess something else that made me happy today? I have finally set up Skype and I skyped my Dad and his wife. We’ve had some problems in getting the communication to work, but today it did. The video streaming isn’t the very best but we talked.

Something that does not put a smile on my face? I have a friend that has vanished without a trace. She would post stuff on Facebook all day long. Now it’s quiet—no activity. She’s not at the house where I used to visit her. And I have no phone number to contact her.

This is nothing compared to what I just heard on the news. I saw a mother who lost her four children to violent shootings, at different occasions. I’ve lost one child, but that was to cystic fibrosis, not to violence.

I’m happy and I’m sad. I have so much to be happy about. But my heat hurts for those suffering around me. I’m sending up special prayers for my “disappeared” friend, for the mother that is burying her fourth child because of senseless violence, for the war-torn areas of our world, and for you, my friend, for whatever your need is.

May a cheerful heart
be good medicine for you!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Hapiness and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

