Dicovering Snow

We have not had any snow to talk about yet this winter, but today it’s snowing. It was a treat for me to have my Ecuadorian friend Marcia working with me because it gave me first hand view of someone discovering snow. I wish I had video stream set up so you could see the videos I took of her dancing in the snow. It makes me think of “Singing in the Rain.” I told Marcia she needs to put music to the video clips because it looks like ballet dancing when she is swinging her arms and enjoying the snow.

Dicovering snow

IMG_4833

I took a picture of a cross from the back corner of my yard, and as you can see, we put a fitting Bible verse to go with it.

Is 1_18

Discovering snow was not the only “discovery” for Marcia. Now she knows she cannot trust a “gringa” (a blond foreigner, that happens to have turned gray!) with tamales. At her English class one of the students had just come back from Panama and brought frozen tamales, wrapped in foil with her. It had gotten through customs and all the way to my kitchen, What did I do? Mess them up completely.

The instructions were to heat them in some boiling water with salt. I wondered about taking the corn paste out of its wrapper, but since the instructions were to boil them in salt water I figured that was what I had to do. It all turned into soup! How sad! Now we know a Peruvian-Swede cannot be trusted with tamales! I feel very bad about it; not because I missed out on them but because Marcia was so looking forward to having that treat. They were made with chicken so I wasn’t in the mood for any such delicacy.

What more discoveries did we do today? As all week, one after another detail on how to work with art in Photoshop. Slowly but surely I’m progressing with the lessons I’m putting out next time, on New Testament Letters. Tomorrow we’ll work together again. And I told Marcia she better fix her own lunch so I don’t mess  up something for her again.

Now, it’s back to working on the Power Bible for children!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

