Being Friends with God

It’s been a few days since I last wrote here. I’m going to have to “abstain” from writing every day. I have so many projects pending that I will have to “give up” this fun side of my life. If I have 7 blogs, the most logical thing is that each one gets a day of the week. I’ll try to stick to that schedule, but I’m sure I’ll “sneak in” an extra blog or two in English. This blog is like keeping a diary.

If I don’t show up as often as I have been doing, it’s because I’m giving my other blogs some extra time.

As you know, I have a story to write every week for boys and girls. I found this picture of a boy helping an elderly man. I’m working on a story about the boy learning that we can be friends with God.

abuelo color

To find out how to be friends with God I went to the Source, to see what Jesus told his disciples.

John 13:34-35
“A new command I give you: Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another. 35 By this all men will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another.”

John 15:12-14
My command is this: Love each other as I have loved you. 13 Greater love has no one than this, that he lay down his life for his friends. 14 You are my friends if you do what I command.

Since he can be friends with God by keeping  Jesus’ commands, the boy wants to know what those commands are. I wanted to know, too. So this morning I looked up some of them. Here are just a few of all the things Jesus taught us to do.

Luke 6:27-31

“But I tell you who hear me:

  • Love your enemies,
  • do good to those who hate you,
  • bless those who curse you,
  • pray for those who mistreat you.
  • If someone strikes you on one cheek, turn to him the other also.
  • If someone takes your cloak, do not stop him from taking your tunic.
  • Give to everyone who asks you,
  • if anyone takes what belongs to you, do not demand it back.
  • Do to others as you would have them do to you.

Luke 6:37-38

  • “Do not judge, and you will not be judged.
  • Do not condemn, and you will not be condemned.
  • Forgive, and you will be forgiven.

Give, and it will be given to you. A good measure, pressed down, shaken together and running over, will be poured into your lap. For with the measure you use, it will be measured to you.”

Matthew 6:19-21
“Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy, and where thieves break in and steal. 20 But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where moth and rust do not destroy, and where thieves do not break in and steal. 21 For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.

Matthew 6:25
“ I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more important than food, and the body more important than clothes?

Matthew 6:33
Seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.

Matthew 6:34
Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.

Matthew 7:7-8
“Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you. 8 For everyone who asks receives; he who seeks finds; and to him who knocks, the door will be opened.

Mark 10:14
“Let the little children come to me, and do not hinder them, for the kingdom of God belongs to such as these.”

Mark 10:43-44
Not so with you. Instead, whoever wants to become great among you must be your servant, and whoever wants to be first must be slave of all. For even the Son of Man did not come to be served, but to serve, and to give his life as a ransom for many.”

These are a lot of things for a little boy to remember, but one by one, with the help of the Holy Spirit he will keep them. There is one important thing he can think about that will help him keep all the commandments: Do to others as you would have them do to you.  If we would all keep that in mind our lives would be so much simpler. There would be so much more love to go around. How can I communicate that to the children?

The first place to start for the boy is by doing something nice for his elderly neighbor. Maybe taking out the trash for starters. I will sleep on this and hopefully tomorrow the story will come together. And so it goes, week by week, one story after another. Tomorrow it will be #169.

Are we friends with God? Do we keep Jesus’ commands of loving each other?

Do you know someone who might be glad to get a little help with taking out the trash? Do you wish you had someone to help you (like yours truly) with the trash?

Friends of God are helpful people!

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Service and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

