Weekends Are Too Short

You’ve probably heard the saying that “Time flies when you are having fun.” From the time one of my grandchildren gave me the bear hugged telling me how much she loved me, until my favorite boy in all the world almost hug me to pieces to tell me how much he loves me, time went with “Jet” speed, or should I say like the Concord? It went much faster than flying with a helicopter!

The girls and I spent Saturday doing crafts. THey helped me with things I can use to illustrate my children’s materials. The latest is, of course, our Garruchaneo cat. Below are pictures of Sarah working on the cat. She was not satisfied with the one I had her color; she needed to do her own, which you can see on the bottom right. But she did one for me, the one on the top left.

Sara Garuuchaneo

Lana worked on a heart, that you can use as a puppet making it walk with your fingers. Brianna did both the cat and the heart, and she had a puppet show for us, which I only have on video. Someday, when I decide to pay the extra fee, I will put videos on this blog. As for now, the photographs will do. Brianna also colored a picture for a story about a smiley girl.

Lana and Bri Garru and Heart

While the parents were on a date, the little one decided to be a little adventurous. She climbed on the couch to hug the dear

Sarah and DeerIf you have been to the place where we spent the weekend, you’ll recognize the deer. I had a date in the evening. I wanted to take the boy with me, but he has medications that wear off in the evening and it might have been hard for him to sit quietly at a table conversing with his grandmother. I enjoyed a view to watch the sunset alone with my thoughts.

That’s it! Didn’t I say it was short? It was TOO short!

Now I am asking God for wisdom to use this week wisely, because looking at my agenda, it seems to be TOO short. We are told to ask for wisdom. I’m preparing a study on the subject, maybe for my next blog.

Weeks are also too short, when you’re having fun. “Find something that you like to do, and then get paid for it!” Someone else came up with this, but it is the honest truth. If you have a job you enjoy, thank the Lord for it. You are blessed.

If you do not enjoy your job, pray for one that you will enjoy. Life is too short to be miserable. Retirement is too short, not to enjoy it. That’s why I write stories, color pictures, publish Bible lessons–because I enjoy it.

Can you believe that I think a workweek is too short? I don’t look forward to Fridays. I like Mondays! On Mondays I can look forward to a whole week of fun!

God bless you! Have fun this week!

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in My grandchildren and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

