The Good Feeling of Clean

This is my best day of every month. But lots of good things happen during a month, so there might be something else that makes it a “best” day. Why is it the best? My cleaning-crew friends have been here!

I remember when living in Peru and Bolivia how wonderful Friday’s felt? How, so? That was cleaning day! I lived in areas with lots of dust—no paved streets in our vicinity. There were paved streets in other parts of the city, but not where we lived. In Cochabamba, Bolivia the wind would blow fiercely most every afternoon. There were cracks in the windows so we had lots of dust to take care of every week. I loved the feeling of Friday evenings when the cleaning was done. It was such a feeling of newness! That’s how I feel every time my cleaning friends have been here. Every time I vow to keep things clean and de-cluttered all month long. Up to now I have not kept my promise. Will I do it this time? One can always hope!

Now I have that good felling of clean! A couple of days ago I had my hair cut, and tomorrow I will have my teeth cleaned. That will feel good. So, on Wednesday, when it’s my birthday, there will be a clean feeling to start a new slate, a new year in my life.

This is nothing compared to the feeling of a clean heart. Have you been forgiven? Do you remember the first time? I was just a 5 or 6-year old kid the first time I asked God to forgive me. I still remember that day as if it was yesterday. Nothing compares to receiving God’s forgiveness, to feel his loving embrace.

I’ve had to come back many times to ask for forgiveness again. Really, it is like David says:

Search me, O God, and know my heart;
test me and know my anxious thoughts.
See if there is any offensive way in me,
and lead me in the way everlasting. (Psalm 139:23-24)

When he had messed up big time, committing adultery and murder, God’s loving heart did not cast him away, and God did listen to his prayer, asking for a pure heart.

Psalm 51:10
Create in me a pure heart, O God,

and renew a steadfast spirit within me.

We constantly have to ask if there is any offensive way in us. To keep a constant “clean” relationship with God is awesome. Thanks to Jesus’ sacrifice on the cross we are forgiven. In him we are made a new creature. I’m so grateful that I have had this fellowship with God since I was a child.

1 John 3:1-3
How great is the love the Father has lavished on us, that we should be called children of God! And that is what we are! The reason the world does not know us is that it did not know him. Dear friends, now we are children of God, and what we will be has not yet been made known. But we know that when he appears, we shall be like him, for we shall see him as he is. Everyone who has this hope in him purifies himself, just as he is pure.

Psalm 24:3-5
Who may ascend the hill of the LORD?
Who may stand in his holy place?
He who has clean hands and a pure heart,
who does not lift up his soul to an idol
or swear by what is false.
He will receive blessing from the LORD
and vindication from God his Savior.

There is an easy way to keep a pure and clean relationship with God. The feeling of a clean house, clean teeth, a new hair cut, is nothing compared to keeping your way pure before God. How? Live according to God’s Word! “Infiltrate” your whole being with the Word of God. Let’s God’s Word guide you.

Psalm 119:9
How can a young man keep his way pure?
By living according to your word.

I pray that you will have the wonderful feeling of a pure heart before God.

Matthew 5_8

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Salvation and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

