Celebrating 67

I’m excited! This is my day! I’ve never before felt so excited about my birthday. It’s really hitting me what a privilege it is to be born. And to be so international as I am adds to the excitement.

Some of my birthdays…

1 in Sweden

7 in Chile, when my parents gave me a wrist-watch

10 in Canada

17 in Sweden, when my boy-friend gave me a guitar

20 in Argentina

30 in Peru

40 in Bolivia, when my co-workers gave me 40 roses

50 in Colorado, USA, when I was given a hot-air-balloon ride that I did not cash in because of our dire financial situation. It went to food!

60 in Missouri, USA

67 in Missouri. I would have loved to be with my daughter and grand-kids. You can’t have everything you wish for. I’ve spoken to my daughter and I’ve spoken via Skype to Dad and his wife. I saw a clear picture of Dad on the screen.

Yesterday I had my teeth clean at the dentist, an experience like running a marathon. It’s getting more painful every time to have the cleaning, because of my medications that make so much build-up on the teeth. The medications I take make my mouth so dry, and that is what causes the problem.

I had my Driver License renewed and ate dinner at Olive Garden, with a lunch price. I got there just before four o’clock, when the prices go up. Interesting to me was that my server was Kirsten, and I’m Kerstin.

At the dentist office they have a nice, big mirror in the bathroom. Why don’t I take a picture of myself? I thought. I did, but I hadn’t figured that the camera would get in the way!

picture of self

The server at Olive Garden did me the favor. That time, no camera was in the way!

Olive Garden 2013

My sister Agneta had sent me a card way ahead of time. It had lots of cakes with candles, because she said I needed lots of cakes to fit all the candles. Did she send it way ahead of time so that would enter my head by the time I had to blow out all the candles?

There will not be any candles! But I had such a pleasant surprise when I got home. The oldest of my brothers and my sister-in-law had sent me flowers. That was so precious.

March 6_13

By now you will probably understand why I’m so excited. The sun is shining, even thought the temperature is very crisp and cold. I have lots of work to do, which is a very positive feeling for a workaholic (I think I fall under that category),  I still have the story of the week to tackle, and my friend Marcia is coming to work this afternoon, so I’ll have lunch with her… That’s about it.

I can’t forget to mention that I had a dinner invitation for last night, but I had to ask for a rain check (that means that you have to ask to postpone it). I wasn’t up to going out twice on the same day.

Why all this talk about myself and my birthday? This is the “Diary” I’m leaving for my grandchildren. When I’m long gone they can read about their crazy grandmother to their children. Is that wishful thinking? Maybe! But it makes me happy, and today is supposed to be a HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in My Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Celebrating 67

  1. Ximena says:

    ¡Felizzzzz cumpleaños querida hermana Kerstin. Es un gran privilegio contar con su amistad
    Con todo cariño,
    la tribu Piérola.

Leave a Reply

