Clothed with Joy

I’ll never forget the joy of holding my first grandchild. He closed the hole in my heart that my daughter left when she was taken to her heavenly home.

I was radiant. When I took my first film to Wal-Mart to have it developed, I beamed. I wanted the whole world to know my joy and see my pictures.

I was clothed with joy!

King David had gone through many hard times, he had fought many battles. But the day came when he was proclaimed King. And a day came when he could dedicate is palace. Songwriter as he was, he wrote a song for that day, a beautiful son that we know as Psalm 30. It was a day when he celebrated what God had done in his life and he expressed it with these beautiful words, after remembering all that he had gone through, “you removed my sackcloth and clothed me with joy” (Psalm 30:11).

King David was clothed me with joy!

Remember I told you about my meeting with Charles Stewart last week? Let me tell you an amazing story about the Lord clothing him and his wife Linda with joy.

Our Lord is amazing. He can work out the most amazing schedules. Charles travels in ministry quite often. He was scheduled for a meeting in Austin, Texas a year ahead of time. One of his sons lives there. A short while after he had this schedule, he got the news that his son and daughter-in-law were expecting their first baby. Low and behold, the due date was the Sundays Charles was scheduled to speak at the church in Austin! Coincidence? There are no coincidences with God!

When the time came, Charles and Linda traveled to Austin, praying and hoping the baby would be born while they were there. We know how babies sometimes come early and sometimes late. They were hoping they would get to see their new grandson while in Austin.

The baby was scheduled to be born the Sunday Charles was to preach in Austin. They spent Saturday visiting with the expectant parents, went to bed on Saturday night, maybe wondering if they even would get to see the baby. God had a surprise for them!

At 2:00 AM they got a call to show up at the birthing center where Ellis was born. If I remember the story correctly, the brand new grandparents got to weigh in the baby and some of the things they do when babies are first born. Needless to say, they didn’t get much sleep that night. But the next morning Charles preached at the church, just like it had been scheduled a year in advance. Talk about perfect timing!

Take a look at the new grandparents, clothed with joy!

Charles_with_Ellis Linda and Ellis_birthday

Do you need a surprise? Are you going through hard times? Read Psalm 30. Weeping remains only for a night, but rejoicing comes in the morning.

You can also be clothed with joy!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Friends, joy and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

