Defending the cause of the little ones

Do you have a cause? Are you passionate about it? If it is a worthy cause, are you willing to give your life for it?

I’ve fought for a cause this week. That’s one of the reasons it’s been a little quiet on this sight for a few days. To tell the truth, it feels like I have been to hell and back! I’m not going to write here about what happened, because it would invade some people’s privacy and I don’t want to do that. But I can tell you this, that I was defending the cause of the little ones.

Speak up

I’m giving you some scriptures to take to heart, and even if our situations are not the same as of the writers of Psalms, Proverbs, and Lamentations (scriptures are below), we can apply the principle. My situation is a paradox. Friday morning a young lady (I’ll call her Susie) that supplies me some of the artwork for my stories called from a country in South America and was devastated. She had a disagreement with her boss and was fired. Because of her circumstances she had been walking around all week pretending she had a job, and of course applying for a new one wherever possible. She didn’t want to tell her parents, especially not to hurt her mother. I told her I would hire her full-time for as long as she didn’t find another job. She should go home and tell her mother that she had gotten a new job with me. This was a step of faith on my part, but I had the freelance secure (I thought), that I translated quarterly. The main reason I work freelance is so I can hire help for my ministry of providing teaching materials on-line free of charge.

This was in the morning, when I counseled Susie and comforted her, all over the phone. In the evening, after a concert for seniors at Praise Assembly in Springfield, Missouri I found myself in the same predicament as Susie. The cause that I had defended, the disagreements and misunderstandings that had resulted, ended up costing me my job! I received an email stating that my services were no longer required.

It is an awkward (what a difficult word to spell) situation. I just hired someone, I have others that depend on me, and I’m fired! Did I not have my Heavenly Father I would be devastated. He feeds the birds, he clothes the lilies of the fields, and he cares for each one of his children. “His eye is on the sparrow, and I know he watches me.”

I have spent the day analyzing, going over every detail from this week of “hell,” which I really shouldn’t use that expression, because through it all I have had the comfort of the Lord, but it seems a fitting word to express the level of distress. In fact, the title of my document of analysis is, The Worst Week of my Life.

If you have a cause, and you are passionate about it, there might come a point when you have to give your life for the cause. There are people around the world who do that daily. The suicide bombers are one extreme example. I would rather give the example of our brothers and sisters who are beaten, tortured, and imprisoned for the name of Christ. Those are my most precious “siblings” in the family of God!

When talking via Skype to Mary, Dad’s wife, about some of the things that have happened to me this week, she said, “You are defending the cause of the little ones!” My “cause” was considered a trivial matter, which I see as potentially having very devastating repercussions. I have fought, and apparently “lost,” at least if I consider my personal life. But I am stronger and more determined than ever to defend the cause of the little ones!

I didn’t pick this cause. God put it in my heart, and in such a forceful way that it has been burning as a fire all week. I could barely contain it.

Read Jesus words and the other scriptures I have put together for you. Be bold! Be strong! If you believe in your cause and it’s a worthy one, fight with all your might for it. Don’t be intimidated. If my situation can inspire you in any way, remember that I even lost my job for defending the little ones.

Had I known the repercussions, would I have backed off last week when the cause was set before me? No way! Would I have done things differently? Definitely! We can always be wise in retrospect. Passion for something can sometimes blind-side us. Nobody is perfect.

I would rather defend a worthy cause, make mistakes along the way, and even suffer consequences, than just stand back and let life go on as if nothing was on the line.

Let me stop here or I’ll be writing all night. I am so passionate for the cause of defending the little ones.

What is your worthy cause? Defend it with your life!

Matthew 18:5-9, 14

Jesus: “Whoever welcomes a little child like this in my name welcomes me. But if anyone causes one of these little ones who believe in me to sin, it would be better for him to have a large millstone hung around his neck and to be drowned in the depths of the sea.

Woe to the world because of the things that cause people to sin! Such things must come, but woe to the man through whom they come! If your hand or your foot causes you to sin cut it off and throw it away. It is better for you to enter life maimed or crippled than to have two hands or two feet and be thrown into eternal fire. And if your eye causes you to sin, gouge it out and throw it away. It is better for you to enter life with one eye than to have two eyes and be thrown into the fire of hell.”

“In the same way your Father in heaven is not willing that any of these little ones should be lost.”

Psalm 82:3-4
Defend the cause of the weak and fatherless;
maintain the rights of the poor and oppressed.
Rescue the weak and needy;
deliver them from the hand of the wicked.

Proverbs 31:8-9
Speak up for those who cannot speak for themselves,
for the rights of all who are destitute.
Speak up and judge fairly;
defend the rights of the poor and needy.”

Lamentations 2:11, 18-19, 3:48
My eyes fail from weeping,
I am in torment within,
my heart is poured out on the ground
because my people are destroyed,
because children and infants faint
in the streets of the city.

The hearts of the people
cry out to the Lord.

O wall of the Daughter of Zion,
let your tears flow like a river
day and night;
give yourself no relief,
your eyes no rest.

Arise, cry out in the night,
as the watches of the night begin;
pour out your heart like water
in the presence of the Lord.

Lift up your hands to him
for the lives of your children,
who faint from hunger
at the head of every street.
Streams of tears flow from my eyes
because my people are destroyed.

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Children and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

