I Said a Bad Word

I was an 8 to 4 kid sitter yesterday. What I mean is that I spent the day with my grandchildren. The Mom had to work and she had solicited my services. Reason being, the children are on spring break.

I don’t know in what context I said the bad word, but little 4-year-old Sarah heard it, and she immediately said, “Mormor (grandmother), you said a bad word. You said stupid!” Later on I had to reprimand her for saying a “bad” word to me, which probably due to my age I can’t remember what it was. I told her it was very disrespectful to call an older person that, but also a younger person should be respected.

Are you aware that we are going to give an account for every careless word we speak?

“But I tell you that everyone will have to give account on the day of judgment for every empty word they have spoken” (Matthew 12:36).

A couple of days ago I wrote about my friend Susie, who had lost her job. That was not the only thing lost. She could not find her ID-card. Without the ID-card she cannot look for another job. What she was most worried about when we spoke is that on Sunday there we going to be elections in her district and if she didn’t show up she would be fined. That’s the way it is in Peru. I told her about my experiences of praying about lost things. I ask the Holy Spirit to show me, because he knows. Guess what? Three hour before it was her turn to vote, she found her ID-card!

Last night it was Brianna’s turn to spend the night with me. When we had our prayer time together I told her about Susie’s experience. Brianna has lost a little friend at the weekly AWANAS (Bible program for children) and she wanted us to pray for her to be able to come back. Another girl had been nasty and called her a brat, so now her parents will not let her go. The story might be a little different from an adult’s perspective. But this is my Brianna’s concern.

She loves my stories. Yesterday we had the story of the little turtle that was lost—the turtle that stopped traffic! The kids did puppets and then put on shows. Would they have been kids if everything went smooth? Of course, not! David did not want to be in the show with the girls so he put on his own show for me as an audience. He reenacted about the turtle. The girls did a show with dogs and cats. Again, there was the respectable audience of one!

The plan was to practice and then put on a show for their mother, but when the mother came home from work, tired and in time to cook dinner, all those plans were forgotten. But they had so much fun coloring the puppets and making the plans. A lot of times the preparations are the most fun.

First English Story

Picture taken by my granddaughter Lana of one historic
moment in my life, publishing #1 children’s story in English.
This is my home away from home
.

A few minutes ago I did something historic. I published the story for the turtle as #1 in my series of stories for children in English. The stories can be found on the site: MX1414 This is a sight were free teaching resources will be available. It will take time to get the site going but everything has to start sometime and that time is now! Here are links to the story and the puppets in case you want to read it and pass it on to some children.

tortuga color

Story: The Turtle that Stopped Traffic

Page to color: Tim and Bandit to color

Puppets: Tim and Bandit

I’ve had to endure many “bad” words lately. I hope I haven’t said too many myself. We always have to be on our guard and remember that we will give an account on the day of judgment for every empty word we have spoken.

From one side I have been attacked, from another side I receive comfort. A friend of my youth, my maid of honor, called. She had just returned to Sweden from Miami, Florida, where she and her husband had been the guests of honor in a church plant, from Peru to USA. How amazing! People that were won to the Lord in their ministry in Peru now planted a church in Miami, USA.

She was an angel of God calling me at the respectable midnight hour: six here midnight there! Why an angel? She encouraged me. She’s glad I’m standing up for the little ones. We’re on the same page. Anything that we feel can hurt the little ones we have to stand up for and defend. Now I’m more passionate than ever. On one side somebody I love told me she has lost trust in me; on the other side somebody I love told me she believes in me and that in the north of Peru, where she has been a missionary, 250 teachers love me and trust me. What a paradox! Maybe you’re going through something similar. If you have a clear conscience, just move forward in the name of the Lord!

In the midst of my struggles I just found out that a church in London is using my materials and loving them. I feel energized! I feel like I can take on the world in Jesus name! I can see great doors of opportunity open up. If you have to stand up for what you feel is right; if you have to defend the cause of the little ones… Do it! Be willing to give you life for righteousness sake! Stand firm on your worthy convictions!

I did say “stupid,” and I’ve done some stupid things. But at the heart of the matter, I know before God that my motives are pure. That’s what counts. Keep your relationship with God clean and holy!

I love you, my dear readers. You inspire me. One of these days I’m going to post the map full of pins showing where all of you are. I see it every time I go out the door. And I can pray specifically, pinpointing every country.

I’m so inspired I could go on and on, so before I tire you I will stop.

Let’s meet tomorrow again!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Encouragement and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

