My Easter Celebration

He is risen

I decided to visit my friends at the Hispanic church Casa de Oración (House of Prayer) for early Easter service. I figured I could later go to “my” church. That did not happen—there were surprises at the House of Prayer. My friend Marcia, whom I introduced here by posting pictures of her great 50th birthday, had worked hard on a pig painting as a back-drop. The church had a Communion service on Thursday, a drama on Friday, and Open House all Saturday to visit different stations of the road to Calvary.

I heard good reports of the pastor. He’s just like me, full of ideas. He’s not the kind who throws out ideas and then has everybody working to make them happen. Sure, everybody has to help out to make them happen, but he is first one to roll up his sleeves and get to work.

Marcias art

The background was painted by Marcia, the front is a replica of a tomb.

After the morning service everybody was invited to have breakfast in the fellowship hall. Pancakes and scrambled eggs. Then came the final execution of all the ideas the pastor had for this Easter celebration. We did a parade of cars driving through town with HE IS RISEN written on the back windshields and flags and banners waiving in the wind. I don’t think the pastor had figured on such deserted streets. Lots of people were in church celebrating the Resurrection and others were probably sleeping in. But it was fun, anyway. As soon as the pastor saw some people, he would stop the car, jump out, and give them a card printed with the message: HE IS RISEN. The church had printed 1000 cards to give out!

the flag

The pastor showing one of the flags and telling the congregation
of his plan for the parade

The pastor is Mexican. He had the flags and banners printed in Mexico. Because he had to make a trip there for personal reasons, he could have those flags printed much cheaper than what the price would have been to print them in the United States.

Easter parade

Here is a little activity for you. There is a typo in captions under the photos. I could fix it, but I will leave it for you to find. It’s hard for me as an editor to do this—to leave a mistake without correcting. Especially since I’m somewhat of a perfectionist. Welcome to find the mistake!

I traveled in the third car, so I had no possibility of taken pictures of the long parade. The children? What did they do? They stayed at the church and had an egg-hunt.

Easter at ICCO

I was very excited when I returned home around noon. The excitement didn’t last long because I had a very disturbing letter in my in-box. But that’s the way life is. Joy and sadness mixed together. In the midst of it all we have to look to Jesus and let him turn our sadness into joy.

Praise the Lord! He is alive and well. With Jesus on our side we can always sing, “It is well with my soul,” come what may. It is well with my soul!

Happy Easter 2013

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Easter and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

