Who’s the Boss?

I think there used to be a show called Who’s the Boss? or am I dreaming? What I want to do here is clarify the “boss” issue. I’ve had some challenges in this area. Probably for my own benefit and hopefully somebody else, I’m writing down some thoughts. There are several pictures that clearly show that somebody has to be at the head. In every situation there has to be a leader. Even for something as simple as a Bible study group meeting in a home.

Think of the old days, when they traveled with horse and buggy. There had to be only one driver, holding the reigns, directing the horse, otherwise the poor horse would be all confused not knowing in what direction to turn.

Let’s take a modern picture. What about traveling in a car or a bus? There is one driver seat and one steering wheel. There can be lots of passengers, all happily traveling together, but the driver sets the direction. Have you ever heard of back-seat-drivers? Those who want to be in charge when they are not in charge? That can be very annoying to the driver.

  • God has established an order in Creation. He put man in charge!
  • God has established an order in the Church. Jesus is the Head.
  • God has established an order in the home. The husband and father is the head.

I see this very clearly with my grandchildren. They know Daddy is the Big Boss. When he is not around, Mother is the Boss. When both the parents are away, I am the Boss (the grandmother, called Mormor ).

When I need a little help I will put the oldest one, David, in charge. He loves to be the Boss, if only for half an hour. But they all know who the Big Boss is!

Easter kids 2013

The beautiful Easter-children who will have me as a Boss for a few days

This week I am going to exercise a lot of authority. The parents are going on a trip and I have been asked to stay with the children. Pray for me! If my feet functioned correctly it would be no big deal, but they are a big problem. I will have to assign lots of responsibilities to the children so that I don’t have to be on my feet too much.

Get the picture? Somebody has to be in charge. Somebody has to make the final decisions.

  • Why do we have a President? Somebody needs to ne the Commander-in-Chief.
  • Why do schools have Principals? Because somebody needs to be the head of the school.
  • Why do we have Teachers? Because somebody has to be in charge of the class.
  • Why do we have Mayors? Because somebody has to be the person in charge of the city.
  • Why do we have Lead Pastors? Because somebody needs to be the leader of a congregation.
  • Why do we have Superintendents? Because someone, like George O. Wood for the Assemblies of God, needs to be the Head of the Fellowship.
  • Why do companies have Presidents and CEO’s? Because someone has to run the company.
  • Why does a ship have a Captain? Somebody has to be responsible for the voyage.
  • Why does a plane have a Captain? Somebody has to fly it!

What would happen if you got on a plane and the passangers started bickering, wanting to take turns in flying the plane? That would be ridiculous!

Have I made my point? How about the body? Why did God put only one head on it? There are two feet and two hands, but the head directs those feet and those hands! Thankfully he only gave us one mouth! We would blabber too much with two, which we often do too much with just one!

In my own life, I need to stand my ground and take ownership of the ministry he has entrusted me. I have invited 70 people to work with me. Some have responded with a “no” and some have said “yes,” although from the most part I have not received an answer. They will answer in time. When I sent out the letters I asked God to space out the answers so I didn’t get overwhelmed. If you have received an invitation, please respond! If you have not received an invitation, and would like to cooperate, the doors are open. Just contact me.

Who’s the Boss? In the MX1414 Free Resources Facilitator, I’m the boss. I don’t say it with arrogance. It’s just a simple fact. I take responsibilities to secure finances, I “hire” help, I distribute assignments, I do every bit of the hard work, and I pay the price of being a leader. God gave me the vision and I will carry it out to the best of my abilities. In Sweden they have an expression called “spindeln i nätet” (the spider in the web). That’s how I envision myself. I am to be the leader, to delegate as much responsibilities as possible, to get as many helpers as I possibly can.

My siblings “hated” me when we were kids. Just because I was bossy! I was just two years old when I showed my leadership qualities (yes, they are qualities). I had all the neighborhood kids following my lead! I’ve always been happy leading. I talked with my friend Angelica this morning. She said she is happiest following a leader and helping in all ways that she can. God has given each of us talents and abilities and we have to serve in those capacities.

Who put the Apostle Peter as a leader? Jesus did! Who put the Apostle Paul in charge of getting the Gospel to the Gentiles? God did! Paul had many helpers, but I don’t think anybody doubted who was in charge. My reader friend, I hope you don’t have a problem with bosses, some people do. If you are a boss, be the best one you can. I hope I can fulfill my leadership responsibilities. God help me! If you answer to a boss, be the best employee you can be.

Read Ephesians 6:1-9. It’s a perfect picture of the order God has established. If you are a parent or a child, a boss or an employee, in everything you do, please the Lord. He is the ultimate Boss!  Colossians 3:23-24 nails it perfectly:

Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for men, since you know that you will receive an inheritance from the Lord as a reward. It is the Lord Christ you are serving.

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Service and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Who’s the Boss?

  1. ncrowson says:

    Great blog, Kerstin! When we all work together under one leader pulling things together, we can accomplish so much for the Kingdom.

  2. kelund says:

    Thanks, Nancy, you encourage me. Being the boss is not the easiest thing!

Leave a Reply

