The Lonely Plight of a Leader

In the Kingdom of God, leadership positions are ordained by God. If we have been given the gift of leadership, Paul writes in his letter to the Romans that we need to govern diligently. There are many gifts, like the ones Paul mentions in Romans 12:6-8.

We have different gifts, according to the grace given us. If a man’s gift is prophesying, let him use it in proportion to his faith. 7 If it is serving, let him serve; if it is teaching, let him teach; 8 if it is encouraging, let him encourage; if it is contributing to the needs of others, let him give generously; if it is leadership, let him govern diligently; if it is showing mercy, let him do it cheerfully.

I’m in the school of hard knocks. God is teaching me. I am a pupil with open ears and an open mind. I hope I am a pupil that can put to practice what I learn.

During the last few month God had been speaking to me about my leadership role, that I am to be “the spider in the web” (Swedish: spindeln i nätet). I didn’t know that expression. I haven’t lived in Sweden since the early 80’s. But I find the expression about the “spider” interesting since my ministry is in the World Wide Web. I need to spin a large and strong web with faithful helpers to fulfill the vision.

What is the vision? To provide FREE teaching resources for parents and teachers, especially geared towards Sunday school and other curricular activities. The original language is Spanish and I have been working on that for a few years. But the Lord told me to do it in English, and then offer the materials for translation to other languages.

This is NOT in competition with curriculum publishers. This is for people that have no access to bookstores where they can purchase curriculum, and also for those that don’t have the finances to buy what they need. If they don’t have a computer, they can go to an Internet Café. This is very popular in Third World Countries.

A leadership role is a lonely one. Leaders are often misunderstood. When things go wrong they have to take the blow. Some people aspire a leadership role for the prestige. In the business world it’s the fame and the money that draws them to be leaders. In the kingdom of God a leader is appointed by the Lord. And as the Word says, if we have the gift of leadership, we need to govern diligently.

Sometimes to be the leader can feel like “flying solo.” My brother is a pilot and I’m sure he has done some solo flights with his airplane, maybe even with the one he built himself. He’s got planes and flying in his blood. When we were kids he used to plan on flying my sister to the jungle (her big aspiration was to be a doctor). My youngest brother said he would be a preacher and go there to bury those who died!

Those were the days of daydreaming. My brother became a surgeon and a pilot. The one who aspired to do the funerals did become a preacher, a missionary pilot, and later a leader in two of the most prestigious organizations in Sweden that do Christian humanitarian work. My sister did become a doctor, married to a preacher and missionary. At the moment they are working on building a hospital in Burkina Faso. These things take leadership qualities! (Forgive me for bragging on my siblings!)

The Apostle Paul wrote to his spiritual son Timothy that if someone had his heart on being an overseer (pastor, bishop, elder), he desired a noble task. In other words, if you want to be a leader, it’s something noble, BUT look the qualities required and be prepared for some “solo” flights!

The overseer must be above reproach

  • the husband of but one wife
  • temperate
  • self-controlled
  • respectable
  • hospitable
  • able to teach
  • not given to drunkenness
  • not violent but gentle
  • not quarrelsome
  • not a lover of money
  • he must manage his own family well
  • he must see that his children obey him with proper respect
  • he must not be a recent convert
  • he must also have a good reputation with outsiders (see 1 Tim 3:1-7)

These qualities are for church leaders, but don’t you think they apply for anybody aspiring leadership? It’s a noble task but it’s lonely and full of responsibilities.

I know I have readers all over the world. It’s amazing that last year I had visitors to this blog from 150 countries. You can pass the word around that there will be teaching materials available. I have started publishing a life-application story every week. See: http://mx1414.wordpress.com/stories-for-children/

Moses was given 70 men to help him; men that God filled with his Spirit. I have approached 70 people to help make this vision possible. I believe God will bring a team like this together. As the leader I will need lots of wisdom. There might be times when I wish I was just flying solo or that I had never taken on this role; but we are not islands. We need each other and I will need very many helping hands.

When we know God has called us, we cannot turn back! Even when it can be a lonely road, because there will be those who misunderstand your actions. But there will always be some faithful friends, to offer support. I’m counting on those friends to help me along the way. I’m determined to fulfill my calling!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Encouragement and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

