Put on Your Hard Hat

Last month I have had to put on a very hard hat, so the blows I received would not knock me down. I praise the Lord that he has helped me get through the battles. They’re not over, but I believe I’m over the hump.

Let me share a couple of encouraging things that have happened in the last few days.

At Easter, I gave some of the people that work with me a symbolic “thank-you” offering. I have to mention it to make sense with the story I’m about to tell. I sensed that I should send my friend Nancy one hundred dollars. She has worked very diligently in translating lessons and stories and coloring quite a few pictures to go with the lessons. She does not expect any remuneration because, just like myself, she is doing out of love for the Lord. But the Lord has blessed me with a good new job so I wanted to share the blessing with her.

For some reason Nancy had the same idea. This is what I got in the mail ($100), and it’s a card made by Nancy. I figure it’s one of her grandchildren wearing the hard hat. The message inside is written by Nancy, probably one of her songs.

check

Sometimes we need a hard hat
In this world today.
The things that people do
And the harsh thing people say
Would bounce right off the top
And land right on the ground;
And you could walk right over them
Without a care or frown.
As a matter of fact,
Instead of feeling blue
You actually could feel a smile
Radiate from you.

My next story is about a friend in Bolivia that has offered to help me with the lessons I publish. I wrote her that whenever the Lord would enable me, I would compensate her financially. I think that is fair. If I receive an offering I’ll share it. This is the answer she sent me:

You know that being a part in this vision that God has given you is much more than a payment for me, and I do it with affection and enthusiasm. I was also finding out a little about how to sell my first CD on the Internet so I could raise funds to support your ministry. A big disadvantage is that we do not have PayPal in Bolivia (which is the most common way being used to make purchases via the Internet, especially in Latin America). It’s very expensive here with credit cards and Western Union and Money Gram charge high commissions. I was thinking about talking to a pastor friend in Chile to ask if he can enable and facilitate PayPal charges. I entrusted this matter to the Lord, I know that there will come a time when you will be devoted exclusively to work in this beautiful vision, and that God will provide for your needs as he does with his little birds.

I feel so blessed that she would want to sell her CD’s to help provide for me. She has the same desire that I have, that one day I will not have to work freelance but devote all my time to fulfill the vision.

matt 6_26

A bird in my neighbor’s tree reminding me of God’s care!

The work that the Lord has provided for me during the next three years is so amazing only a Big God like ours could figure it out. The vision of my ministry is to provide resource for FREE. The lessons I have signed a contract to work on are for orphans and children at risk, and they will be provided for FREE. The awesome part is that I get paid to do the job and with that money I can pay my bills and hire people to do the artwork for the lessons.

I am so amazed and thankful to God for guiding me every step of the way. I said Yesterday that I was in the school of hard knocks. The Apostle Paul, more than any of us, knew what that meant. This is what he writes on one occasion:

2 Corinthians 4:7-10
But we have this treasure in jars of clay to show that this all-surpassing power is from God and not from us. 8 We are hard pressed on every side, but not crushed; perplexed, but not in despair; 9 persecuted, but not abandoned; struck down, but not destroyed. 10 We always carry around in our body the death of Jesus, so that the life of Jesus may also be revealed in our body.

I have four days ahead of me with a different kind of pressure. I have a plan to keep my four grandchildren in check. My son-in-law laughed at me, because he knows that with me his kids get away with stuff he and my daughter won’t allow. I’m the grandmother. There is a difference, but I have a plan. Next week I will tell you if my plan worked.

This morning I asked the Lord to have special mercy on my feet. But this grandmother is tenacious. I can handle pain! But I scream if it hurts too much. When I was giving birth to my first child, the doctors needed to wheel me from one room to another. They asked me to please not scream in the corridors. And I didn’t. Luckily that kind of pain is long gone! Nothing I have to fear. I’m too old (but Sarah was 90 when she had Isaac, so I might not be too old!), but the main point it that I don’t have a husband!  So, no fear!

All jokes aside, I have preparation work to do. This will be my first experience alone with the children for four days. I’ve had them separately but not all at the same time for that long. Are you going to pray for me? Please do!

I’m putting on my hard hat!

Nancy says, “Just put on your hard hat and SMILE!”

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Put on Your Hard Hat

  1. ncrowson says:

    How neat, Kerstin! I love it!

Leave a Reply

